159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

The Museum that Wanted to Eat the City

by Nicholas Roquet, published 2014-11-05
Launched in April 2013 by the City of Quebec, the one-stage ideas competition Pôle muséal du Quartier Montcalm promised to be an exceptional event in three ways. First, rather than designing a circumscribed architectural project, competitors were asked to rethink urban public space in a prospective way - an issue rarely addressed in Quebec through design competitions. Secondly, the competition was open not only to architects, but also to practitioners in the broader field of design, including urban planners, landscape architects, urban or industrial designers and even visual artists (provided these last joined a professional team). Finally, as the competition would not necessarily lead to a built project, winners were offered generous remuneration and exposure in relation to the work that was asked of them.

How, then, could such an ambitious competition generate such meager results? The disappointment begins with the list of competitors, from which the main representatives of the new landscape architecture in Quebec are strikingly absent. Where, for instance, are Claude Cormier, VLAN, NIP and BEAU? And where are the young architectural firms like In Situ, which has proven its skill at transgressing disciplinary boundaries, in favor of a more comprehensive approach to place-building? The disappointment deepens as one reviews the submissions. Despite the talent and imagination of several competitors, few succeeded in freeing themselves from the restrictions imposed on them from the start. If there is a fundamental flaw in this competition, it lies in its goal: to reduce the city as it is experienced to a memorable graphic identity.

Admittedly, my comments here are colored by my familiarity with the competition's site: the Quebec City neighborhood of Montcalm, where I have lived for the past twenty years. Built between 1913 and 1930, Montcalm has wide, shaded streets, lined by three- and four-story walkups. It is both utterly ordinary and a model of effective urban density. So if the City of Quebec and its institutional partners have the means and the ambition to invest in public space, why do so in an area that is already extraordinarily well endowed with parks, shops, workplaces and transport infrastructure? And how can the project truly serve the public good, given that the sector's potential for redevelopment is so limited?

Historically, Quebec City's development has been marked by repeated conflicts between its citizens and the power of state. In the 18th century, its suburbs were partly razed to maintain the walled city's military effectiveness. In the 19th century, the fortifications' expansion hindered trade and residential development. And in the 20th century, the suburbs of Saint-Jean and Saint-Louis were gutted to make way for a new governmental district, which is still incomplete. Nowadays, it would seem, the threat comes instead from the cultural and tourism industry.

The idea of Montcalm as a "Museum Pole" does not stem from a real urban dynamic. Rather, it is the product of a formidable alliance of institutional interests, including the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, which hopes to increase its visibility and attendance (the opening of its new pavilion on Grande-Allée is expected in 2015); the Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec, for whom the city is primarily a space of political representation; the City of Quebec and the Festival d'été de Québec, for whom blockbuster shows on the nearby Plains of Abraham are a major tourist attraction; and finally the local business association, which seems to fear the competition of rivals such as Laurier (a major shopping mall in Sainte-Foy) or Nouvo Saint-Roch (the trendy moniker given to Quebec's lower town by its commercial real estate owners).

For these partners, the conceit of turning Montcalm into an "Arts and Cultural District" quickly became a consensus, even though--apart from the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec--this identity relies solely on the presence of two art galleries, two theaters, a couturier and an art cinema. Similarly, a plan to link the small businesses on Cartier Avenue with the institutional presence of the Museum was quickly hatched, regardless of whether this idea made any sense in terms of urban design. In practice, the new cultural axis is a bizarre triangle that encroaches both on historical landmarks--Grande-Allée and Battlefields Park--and mundane residential and commercial streets. One can imagine the project's initiators exclaiming: "Away, grocers and publicans, barbers and cobblers; we want Art, Culture, something truly Grandiose!"

Despite its ingenuity and conceptual clarity, the winning project by young architects Élizabeth Bouchard and Éric Boucher inevitably plays into the hands of the competition's promoters. Here, Jean-Claude Riopelle's monumental triptych Hommage à Rosa Luxembourg is abstracted into a bright pattern of paving blocks in front of Cartier Avenue's pubs, and the hovering planes of OMA and Provencher Roy's design for the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec are reinterpreted as an iconic range of streetlamps, benches and planters.

Is all this really necessary? The references shown by the City of Quebec at the competition's public launch include some very famous examples of public art, such as the Île de Nantes in France or Chicago's Millennium Park. But we are not to trying to reinvent a rail yard or a derelict industrial site here. The city is already present in modest but tangible ways: on Cartier Avenue, the grocers at Provisions have been peddling their apples and turnips on the sidewalk for the past fifty years, and on the Plains of Abraham, in front of the Museum, joggers run and dogs do their business every morning. If our public institutions feel the need to draw inspiration from international projects, they would do well to avoid grotesque "urban icons" like those the City of Barcelona is busy erecting on the industrial wastelands east of the Diagonàl. More limited and sustainable investments on public land--such as the recent refurbishment of the Rambla de Poblenou--would no doubt prove a more appropriate model.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

156 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 426 projets 42 638 documents

Le musée qui voulait manger la ville

par Nicholas Roquet, publié le 2014-11-05
Lancé en avril 2013 par la Ville de Québec, ce concours ouvert en une étape, d’un type nouveau, promettait d’être un événement exceptionnel par au moins trois aspects. Plutôt que de concevoir un projet architectural circonscrit, il proposait aux concurrents de poser un regard prospectif sur l’espace public urbain (une problématique rarement abordée au Québec dans le cadre de concours). De plus, il s’adressait non seulement aux architectes, mais à tous les praticiens oeuvrant dans le champ élargi du design — incluant urbanistes, architectes paysagistes, designers urbains ou industriels et artistes plasticiens (ces derniers, dans la mesure où ils intégraient une équipe professionnelle). Enfin, comme le concours ne menait pas nécessairement à une commande, il offrait aux lauréats une rémunération et une diffusion généreuses en rapport au travail demandé.

Comment se fait-il alors qu’un concours en apparence aussi ambitieux génère des résultats aussi maigres ? La déception commence avec la liste des concurrents, qui frappe par l’absence des principaux représentants de la nouvelle architecture de paysage québécoise. Où sont par exemple les Claude Cormier, Vlan, NIP ou BEAU ? Et où sont les jeunes agences d’architecture comme In Situ, qui ont déjà démontré leur aisance à transgresser les limites disciplinaires au profit d’un travail plus global sur le sens des lieux ? La déception se poursuit à l’examen des projets soumis, qui, malgré le talent et l’imagination déployés par plusieurs concurrents, ne réussissent pas à se libérer du carcan qui leur est imposé dès le départ. Car s’il y a un vice fondamental dans ce concours, c’est son objectif même : soit de ramener la ville telle qu’elle est vécue ou désirée par ses citoyens à une identité graphique facile à décoder et consommer.

Je l’avoue d’emblée, mes commentaires sont colorés par ma familiarité avec le site du concours (le quartier Montcalm à Québec), où je réside depuis vingt ans. Bâti entre 1913 et 1930, traversé de rues larges, plantées d’arbres et bordées de triplex ou quadruplex mitoyens, Montcalm est à la fois un quartier tout ce qu’il y a de plus ordinaire et un modèle de densité efficace. Or, si la Ville de Québec et ses partenaires institutionnels ont les moyens et l’ambition d’investir dans l’espace public, pourquoi le faire dans un quartier qui, à l’échelle de l’agglomération, est déjà extraordinairement bien pourvu en parcs, commerces de proximité, lieux de travail et infrastructures de transport ? Et quelles fins publiques peut bien servir ce projet, alors que le potentiel de redéveloppement du quartier est fort limité ?

Historiquement, le développement de Québec a été marqué par des conflits répétés entre citoyens et pouvoir d’état. Au 18e siècle, les faubourgs furent partiellement rasés pour maintenir l’efficacité militaire de la place forte ; au 19e, l’extension des emprises militaires entrava le commerce et le lotissement résidentiel ; au 20e, enfin, les faubourgs Saint-Jean et Saint-Louis furent éventrés pour faire place au projet d’un nouveau quartier gouvernemental, au demeurant resté incomplet. Aujourd’hui, il semble que la menace vienne plutôt de l’industrie culturelle et touristique.

En effet, l’idée de faire de Montcalm un « Pôle muséal » est issue non d’une dynamique urbaine réelle, mais d’une formidable alliance d’intérêts institutionnels : d’abord celui du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, qui souhaite augmenter sa visibilité et sa fréquentation (l’inauguration de son nouveau pavillon sur la Grande-Allée est prévue en 2015) ; celui de la Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec, pour qui la ville a avant tout vocation de lieu de représentation politique ; celui de la Ville et du Festival d’été de Québec, pour qui les spectacles à grand déploiement sur les Plaines d’Abraham sont un attrait touristique majeur ; et enfin celui de la Société de développement locale, qui semble craindre la concurrence de signatures commerciales telles que Laurier (un centre d’achats de Sainte-Foy) ou Nouvo Saint-Roch (la rue Saint-Joseph rebaptisée par ses propriétaires riverains).

Pour tous ces partenaires, l’idée d’ériger Montcalm en un « Quartier des arts et de la culture » semble avoir fait consensus — peu importe que cette identité présumée s’appuie (outre le Musée national des beaux-arts) sur la seule présence de deux galeries d’art, deux théâtres, une maison de couture sur mesure et un cinéma de répertoire. La volonté de faire lien entre les commerces de l’avenue Cartier et le parvis institutionnel du Musée semble s’être rapidement imposée, peu importe que cette figure doive s’incarner en une étrange « équerre urbaine », qui empiète tantôt sur des tracés historiques — la Grande-Allée, le parc des Champs-de-Bataille — et tantôt sur d’agréables, mais fort banales voies de quartier. On croirait entendre Sol : « Fi donc, épiciers et marchands de vin, coiffeurs et cordonniers ; place à l’Aaart, à la Cultuure, au Grandiôôôse ! » Malgré toute l’inventivité et la clarté conceptuelle de leur proposition, le projet lauréat des jeunes architectes Élisabeth Bouchard et Éric Boucher joue donc inévitablement le jeu des promoteurs du concours. Les figures élégiaques de L’hommage à Rosa Luxembourg de Jean- Paul Riopelle s’y muent en pavé signalétique pour les bistrots de la rue Cartier, et les strates lumineuses d’OMA et Provencher Roy pour le Musée des beaux-arts sont reprises en une gamme exclusive de lampadaires, bancs publics et bacs de plantation.

Fallait-il vraiment en faire autant ? Les référents présentés par la Ville de Québec lors du lancement public du concours incluent certes des exemples célèbres d’art public, tels que l’Île de Nantes ou le Millennium Park de Chicago. Mais nous ne sommes pas ici en train de réinventer une cour de triage ou un site industriel déserté. La ville est déjà présente, sous des formes modestes, mais bien tangibles : avenue Cartier, le marché Provisions étale ses caisses de primeurs et ma belle-mère placote au soleil depuis près de cinquante ans, et sur les Plaines, face au Musée, les coureurs courent et les chiens font leurs crottes.

Si nos corps publics sentent le besoin de s’inspirer de projets internationaux, peut-être gagneraient-ils à laisser de côté les grotesques « icônes urbaines » qu’érige désormais la municipalité de Barcelone sur ses friches industrielles à l’est du Diagonàl. Des opérations plus limitées et durables sur l’emprise publique — comme la réfection de la Rambla de Poblenou — constitueraient pour l’avenue Cartier une inspiration bien plus plausible.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires