159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 089 documents

Amateur Ideas for Expert Projects ?

by Olivier Guertin, published 2016-03-14
In order to become the “greenest city on the planet by 2020,” the British-Columbian metropolis organized in 2011 a series of three idea competitions called “re:CONNECT”. One of them investigated an ancient industrial district, False Creek Flats, while questioning the future of its viaducts. Being an open international competition, there was a particular concern for the inclusion of a variety of people therefore accepting proposals from both professionals and amateurs candidates.

Visualizing the Viaducts asked designers to explore possibilities for the future of urban planning in regards to the Georgia and Dunsmuir viaducts giving on English Bay. In a way, there were endless possibilities; from the conservation of the site to a clean slate. The bitumen ground and the colossal concrete being called for new vocations, the request showed a tangible tension between rupture and continuity. Organizers prompted participants to keep in mind six strategic orientations adopted by the city for directing the urban development in a sustainable way while imposing three evaluation criteria: creativity, respect of regulations and municipal engagements, and the ability to answer three viaducts-oriented parameters, being the urban grid, ground uses, and questions about mobility. Finally, the participants had a bit more than a month to submit their ideas.

While one could understand this competition in the context of sustainable development-oriented questions, it is also possible to see it being a part of a larger public consultation operation that investigates urban development. It is important to note that there were also private consultations occurring with both work-interested parties and further independent urban design studies in relation to the viaducts during this competition.

The competition attracted around 50 proposals from 7 countries, of which 70% were Canadian and 80% were from the Vancouver metropolitan area. A certain blur was maintained by the organizers relative to the competition demands suggesting that professionals were not systematically the best to answer to this challenge. Beside the fact that the object of this competition was well defined, that being a reaction to a precise industrial context, projects could oscillate in scale from urbanism, to landscape, to architecture. In the end, even if the jury was formed by well-known members, including Patricia Patkau, it could not agree on one single proposal, but rather decided to pick four laureate proposals. Without the possibility to further explore deliberations because there was no jury report communicated to the CCC team, it is reasonable to emphasise the subject of the competition question; despite the numerous criteria, no question was clearly identified by organizers.

As previously mentioned, the submission review allowed for a large variation of intervention scales; some were oriented toward large ensembles, others were more interested in the spaces formed by the viaducts. A document obtained by the City gave a repertoire of key themes emerging from all the proposals and revealed a structural approach by which categories were elaborated. The resultant matrix showed a first, horizontal axis describing the “infrastructures retention” (retain / modified / complete removal), and a second, vertical axis associated to functions related to the program (“traffic” / “public & cycling link” / “traffic & public” / “neither”). Otherwise, central themes seemingly emerged: “park space”, “activated ground plane”, “introduction of water”, “bikes & pedestrians”, “engaging the structures”, “introduction to development”, “build under the viaducts” and “tunneling of traffic”. The categorisation was still, after all, a reshuffle of the proposals without a real conclusion.

Seeking different scales, the examination of the winning entries seemed to reveal clarity through their formulation of questions, thus delimitating the possibilities for interventions related to the viaducts.

The proposal “- Viaducts = Parks +” was similar to an urban management operation and revisited the ecologist triad along the three spheres “people & history”, “nature” and “connectivity” for a complete removal of the viaducts. The competition boards were composed with well-defined narratives, strengthening the idea of a “solved” project, and a series of vignettes aiming for an individual answer to the numerous criteria this competition could present. Putting forward pragmatic means for defining the triad, a call for a celebration of Histories of the site was also given.

"Periscopes & Projected Landscapes”, diametrically opposed to the precedent project, suggested to completely retain both infrastructures. Asking the question, “what could this area become that would enhance the space abandoned by mainstream society?” this celebration of the abandoned space gave as result a poetic proposal in the hopes of telling a story about public events, while using collage as medium of representation. The viaducts being “Mental markers” of the City bring to mind “massive canopies” allowing opportunities for some “urban-street art”.

With an evocative title like “New & Reused,” this project proposed an architectural intervention axed on a smaller scale offered by viaduct, suggesting a less global proposal than the previous two. Driven by an interest in the appropriation of these structures, this proposal aimed for partial transformations where the viaducts could act as “roof” or as “ramp for cyclists and pedestrians”. According to the designer, I-beams obtained from the dismantling would be reused analogically to the stones from the Roman walls reinvested in a posteriori constructions, and then pilled one after the other resulting in a public grotto with the oculus recalling a certain Pantheon. Ultimately the proposal aims to convey the global and urban impact of this architectural event with considerations for bikes, pedestrians, water, and vehicles movements.

While the fourth winning entry did not present the most impressive graphic design skills, it stood out as a result of challenging the commission by suggesting altering existing viaducts. The two sequenced competition boards showed a reflective rather than prescriptive dialect: the first one, called, “The Viaducts” depicted vehicle circulation fluxes at the moment, questioning the pertinence of putting aside such infrastructures while denouncing the visual barrier caused by their presence. The second one, “The Ramps” proposed a diversion of the viaducts by relocating and burying them. The logic behind this design is to reduce urban congestion and to increase pedestrian access toward False Creek.

It was expressed clearly from the beginning that this competition would act as a tool for public consultation so that it could become a survey of ideas made for nourishing the designers in charge. Because of this, it becomes logical why the jury chose 4 laureates, holding back from freezing one idea in particular by putting the emphasis of formulating questions from a citizen’s point of view. Nevertheless, the organisers had the ambition that this competition would be an international event while generating a consultation space dedicated to the Vancouver’s citizens.

This brings us to the question, is it legitimate to make citizen based consultation parallel to feasibility studies as a mean to link amateur ideas for expert projects?

(English version revised by Chantal Auger)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 089 documents

Des idées d’amateurs pour des projets d’experts ?

par Olivier Guertin, publié le 2016-03-14
Nourrissant l’ambition de devenir la ville « la plus durable d’ici 2020 », la Ville de Vancouver a organisé en 2011 une série de trois concours d’idée intitulés « re:CONNECT », dont le volet « Visualizing the Viaducts » abordait le remaniement de l’ancien secteur industriel False Creek Flats en interrogeant l’avenir de ses passerelles. Soucieux de considérer la participation citoyenne, ce concours international et ouvert accueillait autant les propositions d’horizons professionnels que celles du grand public.

Le volet « Visualizing the Viaducts » proposait aux concepteurs d’explorer les possibilités d’aménagement futur des viaducs Georgia et Dunsmuir donnant sur la baie English, construits à une époque où la planification urbaine se subordonnait au développement du réseau autoroutier. En ce sens, tout était possible, de la conservation pleine et entière à la table rase. Le sol bitumé et les colosses de béton étant appelés à de nouvelles vocations, la tension entre rupture et continuité était palpable dans la commande. Les organisateurs encourageaient les participants à s’inspirer de six orientations que l’administration de la Ville avait adoptées pour diriger le développement urbain de façon durable, tout en les soumettant aux trois critères d’évaluation suivants : la créativité, le respect des règlements et engagements municipaux, puis la capacité de répondre aux trois paramètres concernant les viaducs que sont la trame urbaine, les usages civiques du sol et les questions de mobilité. Enfin, mentionnons que les participants bénéficiaient d’un peu plus d’un mois pour livrer leur soumission.

Si des questions relatives au développement durable se retrouvaient bel et bien au centre de l’énoncé du concours, il fallait aussi le comprendre comme un segment d’une opération de consultation publique explorant des idées de développement urbain. Mentionnons que simultanément à cette compétition avaient aussi lieu des consultations avec des parties intéressées par l’ouvrage, puis des études indépendantes de conception urbaine relatives aux viaducs. Cette vaste consultation populaire et professionnelle se voyait par la suite relayée par une autre équipe de design urbain développant des propositions.

Le concours a attiré une cinquantaine de propositions en provenance de 7 pays, mais 70% des projets étaient d’origine canadienne. De ce pourcentage, 80% des réponses du pays hôte découlaient de la région métropolitaine de Vancouver. Notons également que le flou entretenu par les organisateurs quant aux demandes du concours pouvait laisser penser que, selon eux, les professionnels n’étaient pas systématiquement les mieux placés pour répondre à la commande. S’il est apprécié que l’objet du concours fût bien posé – il s’agissait d’une réaction à un contexte industriel précis, les échelles de projets pouvaient osciller entre celle de l’urbanisme, du paysage et de l’architecture. Enfin, bien que le jury ait été constitué de membres compétents, notamment la célèbre architecte canadienne Patricia Patkau, ce même jury ne put arrêter son choix sur un seul vainqueur, s’en remettant à quatre lauréats ex aequo. Ne pouvant explorer davantage les délibérations puisqu’aucun rapport de jury n’a été transmis à l’équipe du CCC, il est légitime de se tourner vers la question de concours, car en dépit des nombreux critères à respecter, aucune question n’était véritablement formulée par les organisateurs.

Un survol des propositions permet de prendre la mesure d’une variation considérable des échelles d’intervention. Si certaines abordaient des opérations de grand ensemble, d’autres axaient davantage leur projet sur les espaces mêmes des viaducs. Un document fourni par la Ville a répertorié par la suite, les thèmes-clés de l’ensemble des propositions de ce concours révélant, dans un premier temps, une approche structurale afin de catégoriser les résultats. Les axes de la matrice étaient constitués, d’une part, du niveau de rétention des infrastructures (« conservées », « modifiées » ou « supprimées »), puis des fonctions leur étant rattachées (« trafic », « public / lien cyclable », « trafic et public », puis « aucun »). D’autre part, des thèmes centraux ont émergé des propositions : « parcs », « sol activé », « introduction de l’eau », « bicyclettes et piétons », « investissement des structures », « introduction du développement », « construire sous les viaducs » et « enfouissement du trafic ». Cela étant, une telle catégorisation a posteriori, reste une lecture des propositions sans réelle conclusion.

L’examen des propositions gagnantes révèle une certaine clarté dans la formulation des questions, tout comme des prises de position capables de borner le champ des possibles des interventions sur les viaducs.

La proposition « - Viaducts = Parks + » se rapproche d’une opération de gestion urbaine et revisite la triade écologiste selon trois sphères, « population et histoire », « nature » et « connectivité », afin d’éradiquer les viaducs. Les planches sont à la fois composées de vues narratives, bien définies, renforçant l’idée d’un projet « réglé », et d’une série de vignettes tentant de répondre, chacune, aux nombreux critères du concours. Mettant de l’avant des moyens pragmatiques afin de définir les termes de la triade de départ, elle fait aussi appel à une célébration des « Histoires » du site.

Le projet « Periscopes & projected Landscapes », diamétralement opposé au précédent, suggère une conservation complète des deux infrastructures. En posant la question « qu’adviendrait-il de cette zone qui célébrerait l’espace abandonné par la société dominante [mainstream]? », cette célébration des espaces abandonnés donne lieu à une proposition poétique désirant raconter une histoire d’évènements publics, se servant du collage comme médium de représentation. « Marqueurs mentaux » de la Ville, les viaducs incarnent de « grandes canopées » et des « totems industriels » permettant des opportunités de « urban-street art ».

Avec son titre évocateur, « New & Reused » propose une intervention architecturale axée sur l’échelle plus petite des viaducs et moins globale que les propositions précédentes. Sensible aux appropriations populaires des viaducs, le projet de conservation partielle vise exclusivement ces moments où les infrastructures agissent comme « des toits » et des « passerelles pour cyclistes et piétons ». Selon le concepteur, les poutres en « I » issues du démantèlement seraient récupérées telles les pierres des murs romains réinvesties dans des constructions ultérieures, puis empilées afin de construire une « grotte » publique, dont l’oculus n’est pas sans rappeler un certain panthéon. Au final, on cherche à convaincre de l’impact plus global et urbain de cet évènement architectural avec des considérations pour les mouvements des cyclistes, des piétons, de l’eau et des véhicules.

La quatrième proposition ne présente peut-être pas la facture graphique la plus intéressante, mais elle se révèle originale dans sa façon de s’inscrire en faux avec la commande en suggérant de conserver les viaducs, d’une façon revue et corrigée. Les planches, séquencées, présentent une dialectique réflexive plutôt que prescriptive : la première, « The Viaducts », brosse le portrait des flux de circulation automobile du moment, en questionnant la pertinence de se départir de ces infrastructures, tout en ne manquant pas de dénoncer les barrières visuelles engendrées par leur présence. La seconde, « The Ramps », propose un détournement des viaducs par déplacement et enfouissement, dans le but avoué de réduire la congestion urbaine et d’accroître la piétonnisation vers False Creek.

Cette formule de concours se présentait comme outil de consultation citoyenne annonçant clairement aux concurrents, dès le départ, de sa finalité comme sondage d’idées servant à nourrir les concepteurs en charge du projet. On peut comprendre que le jury ait choisi quatre lauréats, ne figeant aucune idée, mais cherchant à formuler plus clairement des questionnements citoyens. Toutefois, des interrogations demeurent quant au désir des organisateurs de faire de cette compétition un évènement international tout en créant un espace de consultation avec la population de Vancouver. Ceci peut expliquer le faible taux de 30% de soumissions hors Canada. Fallait-il comprendre cette consultation populaire parallèlement aux études de faisabilité comme une volonté de conjuguer des idées d’amateurs aux projets des experts?
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires