159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

A competition on the intangible

by Jacques Lachapelle, published 2009-09-01
Initiated by the Creativity Center of Gesù in partnership with the entertainment district and Design Montreal, this competition of ideas held in 2008 provided a central challenge for both competitors as well as for the jury: lighting in architecture. Specifically, the artifice of light. It is true that initially the project meets a need: nestled in the shadow of Bleury Street, the Creativity Center of Gesù lacks visibility. It needs a signal to affirm its presence. The pretext was to undertake a rich theme, linking religion and performance, from which the submitted projects were inspired. From the performance, the image of the lights from the projectors, and the stagings. From the church, the shadow of its incomplete nature or the desire to help read its architecture. Of religion, rarely mentioned, the divine light! But these thematic pillars that have nourished the majority of projects have brought about risks: the intangibility, the invasiveness of a sophisticated mechanism to provide lighting, the escalation of a mercantile vision at the expense of the religious character, or, for some, forgetting that light does not exist unless it caresses or hits matter.

This remarkable imaginary potential largely explains the success of this competition, 37 submissions on an international scale for, after all, a small project. We must also highlight the importance of the project manager, the Creativity Center of Gesù, which has recognized in the form of a competition of ideas, open to all, without restriction, a way of asserting its own mission: artistic exploration. Moreover, this experience demonstrates the collective value of competitions. By exhibiting projects, and submitting them to a popular vote and by presenting the choices of the jury within a forum, the competition has become an event space that restores dialogue and action regarding the question of public architecture. The formula, already used by Design Montreal on other occasions and adeptly conducted, has revealed once again the richness of this transparent process, which is opposite to the opacity of the majority of large public projects that avoid giving rise to competitions. The light of this modest competition is also there.

(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)


IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

157 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 441 projets 42 799 documents

Un concours sur l'intangible

par Jacques Lachapelle, publié le 2009-09-01
Initié par le Gesù Centre de créativité en partenariat avec le quartier des spectacles et Design Montréal, ce concours d’idées tenu en 2008 offrait un défi central, tant pour les concurrents que pour le jury : la lumière en architecture. Plus précisément, l’artifice de la lumière. Il est vrai qu’au départ, le projet répond à une nécessité : blotti dans l’ombre de la rue Bleury, le Centre de création du Gésù manque de visibilité. Il lui faut un signal pour affirmer sa présence. C’était le prétexte pour aborder une thématique riche, liant religion et spectacle, dont les projets soumis se sont inspirés. Du spectacle, l’image des feux des projecteurs et des mises en scène. De l’église, le spectre de son inachèvement ou l’envie d’aider à lire son architecture. De la religion, plus rarement évoquée, la lumière... divine ! Mais ces pistes thématiques qui ont nourri la majorité des projets comportaient des risques : au lieu de l’intangibilité, l’envahissant d’une mécanique sophistiquée pour assurer l’éclairage ; la surenchère d’une vision mercantile aux dépens du caractère religieux ; ou, pour certains, l’oubli que la lumière n’existe que lorsqu’elle caresse ou qu’elle frappe la matière.

Ce remarquable potentiel imaginaire explique en grande partie le succès de ce concours, 37 soumissions à une échelle internationale pour, somme toute, un petit projet. Il faut aussi souligner le mérite du maître d’œuvre, le centre de créativité du Gesù, qui a reconnu dans la formule du concours d’idées, ouvert à tous, sans restriction, un moyen de faire valoir sa propre mission : l’exploration artistique. Qui plus est, l’expérience témoigne de la valeur collective des concours. En exposant les projets, en les soumettant à un vote populaire et en présentant les choix du jury dans un forum, le concours est devenu un espace événementiel qui réhabilite le dialogue et l’action sur la question de l’architecture publique. La formule, déjà utilisée par Design Montréal à d’autres occasions et habilement menée, a dévoilé encore une fois la richesse de ce processus de transparence, aux antipodes de l’opacité de la majorité des grands projets publics qui évitent de donner lieu à des concours. La lumière de ce modeste concours est aussi là.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires