159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

North of Ontario School of Architecture

by Anne Cormier, published 2010-03-01
The proposed school of architecture that has been emerging for some years at Laurentian University is guided by the intuition of the possible impacts that such a school would have in Sudbury, more conveniently referred to as North of Ontario. The expected impact for Sudbury would certainly be the cultural contribution of the school by its activities as well as the possible links with local industries. In fact, a possible urban renewal could be provoked by its location in the heart of city, as it was clear to the promoters from the very beginning of the project, that the place for an architecture school is in the city, rather than on the Laurentian campus.

The international competition of open ideas that was held, sought multiple objectives. The idea was to evoke, not only the Sudbury citizens, but the architectural community at large, an interest for the project and its urban impact. If the characteristics of the city were widely exhibited in the program, it was up to the competitors to situate the school within the city, in the perspective of a broad exploration of possibilities and the recognition of the development potential offered by downtown Sudbury. It was also meant to address the ambitious project of a bilingual school, located on the rocky outcrops of the Canadian shield in the middle of the boreal forest in a relatively isolated town in northern Ontario. The NOSOA (Northern Ontario School of Architecture) competition, or, in French, l'ÉANO (École d'architecture du Nord de l'Ontario) was intended to answer the enticing question: "What could a school of architecture be?" In addition, there was a call for the contribution of indigenous communities in the activities of the School. There was speculation that they would support the promotion of sustainable lifestyles and innovation in the forestry sector and entrepreneurship in general.

This ambitious competition with a vast program was fruitful. The 59 proposals received from nine countries on three continents had exceeded the expectations of the organizers and the citizens of Sudbury who are, in some way, the real winners of this competition. The wealth of ideas presented and the range of projects allowed them to appreciate a wide range of urban, landscape and architectural strategies from the consolidation of the urban fabric to the gentle infiltration of downtown where the most interesting proposals sought to repair the disrupted urban fabric through landscaped and built interventions. It's now up to the Laurentian and Sudbury to move forward!

(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)


IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 089 documents

L'École d'architecture du Nord de l'Ontario

par Anne Cormier, publié le 2010-03-01
Le projet d’école d’architecture qui se dessine depuis quelques années à l’Université Laurentienne est guidé par l’intuition de l’impact que pourrait avoir une telle école à Sudbury. L’impact attendu pour Sudbury se situerait bien sûr au niveau de l’apport culturel de l’école par ses activités ainsi que les liens possibles avec les industries locales. En fait, c’est un renouveau urbain que pourrait provoquer l’implantation du projet au cœur du centre-ville, car il était clair pour les instigateurs depuis le tout début que la place d’une école d’architecture est dans la ville, plutôt que sur le campus de la Laurentienne.

La tenue d’un concours d’idées, ouvert et international, visait de multiples objectifs. Il s’agissait de susciter chez les citoyens de Sudbury et dans la communauté architecturale élargie un intérêt pour le projet et pour son impact urbain. Si les caractéristiques de la ville étaient largement exposées dans le programme, il revenait aux concurrents de localiser l’école dans la ville, cela dans l’optique d’une vaste exploration des possibles et d’une reconnaissance du potentiel de développement qu’offre le centre-ville de Sudbury. Il s’agissait également de traiter le projet ambitieux d’une école bilingue implantée sur les affleurements rocheux du Bouclier canadien au milieu de la forêt boréale, dans une ville relativement isolée du nord de l’Ontario. Le concours de l’ÉANO (École d’architecture du Nord de l’Ontario), ou, en anglais, le NOSOA (North of Ontario School of Architecture) était formulé pour répondre à la question somme toute séduisante : «Qu’est-ce qu’une école d’architecture pourrait être ? ». De plus, on annonçait la mise à contribution des communautés autochtones aux activités de l’École. On spéculait également sur son apport à la promotion de modes de vie qui tiennent compte des objectifs du développement durable et à l’innovation dans le secteur forestier et dans l’entrepreneuriat en général.

Cet ambitieux concours au vaste programme aura porté fruit. Les 59 propositions reçues de neuf pays situés sur trois continents ont dépassé les attentes des organisateurs et des citoyens de Sudbury. La richesse des idées présentées et l’éventail des projets leur permettent aujourd’hui d’apprécier un vaste éventail de stratégies urbaines, paysagères et architecturales, allant de la consolidation du tissu urbain à l’infiltration perlée du centre-ville en passant par la suture paysagère et construite. C’est maintenant au tour de La Laurentienne et de Sudbury d’aller de l’avant !
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires