159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

The New Montreal Planetarium: Stars of the Underground

by Carmela Cucuzzella , published 2010-10-01
When an opportunity to design a new planetarium arises, where does one start, and where can one end? The five finalist projects, all Quebec teams, selected by a jury of 10, ranged from dynamic to ephemeral, from constellation maps to super ecological designs to black holes, from angular structures to skin-like envelopes, each one projecting their own vision of an immersive experience that is at once educational, entertaining, cultural and emotional.

With the new planetarium, being four times the size of the 1966 Montreal Planetarium, hosting not one, but two star theatres, and a multitude of new technological advancements, architects responded with resounding enthusiasm. The results were remarkable. This competition process, an anonymous two stage process, fostered ideas spanning a staggering spectrum. The ideas proposed by the 62 teams, came mostly from Quebec (48), while the rest came from Italy, Germany, France, the United States and China.

However, did this competition bypass an extraordinary opportunity to renew the architectural form because of a strict emphasis on sustainability or more specifically on LEED? The winning project, whose main visible components from the street level are its telescopic canon shaped theatres, blatantly symbolizing astronomical instruments, is otherwise immersed underground – a conservative proposal at best. One thing is certain however. The new planetarium offers a green oasis within this site of concrete structures. It meets the highest standards of green building design, attaining a LEED platinum certification, an obligation, one could say, given that it seeks such proximity with nature. But what was compromised so that this high LEED standard could be upheld? As the only Francophone institution of its kind in North America, and as the first city to open a planetarium to the public in Canada, one cannot cease to wonder if the winning project fell short of such grand expectations.

The existing planetarium, situated near Old Montreal was inaugurated in 1966, one year earlier than its expected opening date of 1967, to coincide with the Expo'67 world fair. The Expo'67 world's fair put Montreal on the international scene, endowing the city with a unique modern heritage, and at the time, the planetarium was a key attestation to Montreal's strong expertise in the fields of museology, science and technology – an important milestone for the City of Montreal.

What was the driving force for the new planetarium this time around? The multitude of press releases and documents confirm that this project would become yet another example to help position Montreal as a leader in sustainable development. Is the new goal of attaining LEED accreditation on public projects the new political and cultural impetus for Montreal? There are already examples of projects adopting the LEED norm with hardly any redeeming architectural qualities. Is the prominence of LEED in architectural competitions forging a path for avoiding the very crucial architectural questions of urban form? Although LEED remains a very significant analytical tool for helping address a series of ecological concerns, its heavy focus in architectural competitions may be at the detriment of addressing other important architectural concerns and may obscure the cultural and social motivations that architectural projects as unique as this may provide.

However, there is still much to delight in. The two phase anonymous competition format allowed, right from the start, an energetic display of originality by the 62 competitors - from space ship enterprises to planets in orbit to representations of toys that children play with to landscapes of Neverland – where creativity was both the point of departure inciting the desire to participate, and as seen through the ideas presented the outcome. And even if in the end, the opportunity to shine was circumvented for the more grounded and conservative goal of attaining LEED accreditation, this open competition was yet another exceptional example of potential architecture.

The Canadian Competitions Catalogue therefore invites you to dream of cosmic experiences through not only the winning and finalist projects, but through the 57 other projects whose contributions were undeniable. A planetarium's form and structure may hint at the celestial experiences that lie within, and undeniably for this competition, the clichéd forms so prevalent in the earlier planetariums were dodged by many competitors.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 122 documents

Le nouveau Planétarium de Montréal: étoiles en sous sol

par Carmela Cucuzzella , publié le 2010-10-01
Rares sont les occasions de concevoir un nouveau planétarium, immenses et multiples sont les réponses possibles à un programme qui n’est pas seulement technique. Les 5 projets finalistes du concours pour le nouveau planétarium de Montréal, sélectionnés par un jury de 10 personnes, sont autant de réponses. De la référence aux trous noirs jusqu’aux dispositifs écologiques, des cartes du ciel, en passant des structures angulaires ou des enveloppes épidermiques, chacun projette sa vision d’une expérience immersive à la fois éducative, divertissante, culturelle et émouvante.

Quatre fois plus grand que le Planétarium de Montréal de 1966, celui-ci accueillera non pas un, mais deux théâtres des étoiles à la fine pointe de la technologie. Les résultats du concours ont été remarquables, les deux phases ayant favorisé le développement d’idées couvrant un large spectre. Les projets proposés par les 62 équipes provenaient principalement du Québec, mais aussi d’Allemagne, de Chine, des États-Unis, de France et d’Italie.

Étant donnée l’emphase mise sur la dimension écologique, et plus spécifiquement sur la norme LEED lors de ce concours, on peut se demander si l’on a vraiment accordé la place nécessaire à l’innovation architecturale. Le projet lauréat, presque entièrement disposé en sous-sol n’offre comme seules composantes visibles depuis la rue ces cônes télescopiques logeant les théâtres et symbolisant ouvertement des instruments d’observation. Logique et pertinente, l’analogie du télescope reste cependant un peu conservatrice. Il reste que le nouveau planétarium offrira une oasis verte au sein du paysage bétonné du Parc Olympique et rencontrera les plus hauts standards en matière d’architecture écologique en remplissant les exigences de la certification LEED Platine. Quels compromis a-t-on faits pour que cette certification LEED de haut niveau soit atteinte, l’histoire le dira. En tant que seul établissement francophone de ce type en Amérique du Nord et Montréal étant la première ville canadienne ayant ouvert un planétarium public, le projet gagnant n’aura d’autre choix que de bien remplir sa mission éducative et scientifique.

Le planétarium actuel, situé aux abords du Vieux-Montréal, fut inauguré en 1966 soit avec un an d’avance sur la date prévue en coïncidence avec l’ouverture de l’Exposition Universelle de 1967. Période de rayonnement au niveau international pour la ville de Montréal, l’Expo 67 permit à la métropole de se doter d’un patrimoine architectural moderne unique. Parmi ces infrastructures, le planétarium venait confirmer l’expertise montréalaise dans les domaines de la muséologie, des sciences et des technologies.

Il est plus difficile par contre de cerner les contours d’une vision directrice énoncée en 2008, au moment du lancement de ce concours. Les nombreux articles de presse et les documents publiés lors du lancement annonçaient un projet exemplaire confirmant la place de Montréal parmi les leaders du développement durable. Si l’on comprend l’impératif politique et culturel de Montréal symbolisé par la construction de bâtiments LEED, on peut aussi se demander si la proéminence de LEED dans les concours d’architecture n’est pas en train d’inciter les décideurs à éviter d’autres questions cruciales d’ordre architecturales et urbanistiques. Bien que LEED soit un outil d’analyse facilitant l’intégration de stratégies écologiques, il ne peut à lui seul s’adresser aux aspects sociaux et culturels que des projets aussi uniques doivent comprendre pour s’adresser pleinement à la collectivité.

Du point de vue de l’organisation, ce concours a mobilisé un impressionnant arsenal de dispositions règlementaires.

Se déroulant en deux phases, dont une première ouverte et anonyme, l’organisation du concours a encouragé une forte participation tout en laissant place à l’originalité. Les projets des 62 concurrents, qui vont du vaisseau spatial aux planètes en orbite, des représentations de jouets d’enfants en passant par les paysages imaginaires de Neverland, nous présentent une variété de solutions architecturales où la créativité devient à la fois le point de départ incitant à la participation et le moteur des innombrables idées proposées. Et bien qu’au final le rapport à la ville se soit estompé pour mieux répondre aux objectifs les plus conservateurs de l’accréditation LEED, cet événement a révélé le talent de nombreuses équipes et leur volonté de contribuer à l’urbanité de ce quartier de Montréal.

Le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens invite à rêver d’expériences cosmiques à travers 5 projets finalistes et 57 autres projets dont la contribution est indéniable. La forme et la structure d’un planétarium peuvent renvoyer à l’expérience de l’espace intersidéral, mais, au-delà des clichés convenus, elle peut aussi être une occasion d’invention comme l’ont compris de nombreux concurrents.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires