159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

Brainstorming Vancouver

by Camille Crossman, published 2011-04-22
We know Western Canada to be dynamic, but with the Formshift competition, organised in 2009, Vancouver has shown that we can rely on architectural exploration to reflect upon the city's future. As opposed to a standard theme, the competition's organisers offered three questions to participants. The first two components consisted of fictional sites, representing standard organisational realities different from those present in Vancouver, such as primary and commercial circulation vs. secondary and residential circulation. The third component was a choice that was left to the participant.

The first component (Vancouver Primary) consisted in creating a project located on the main artery of an urban city block, with its goal to rethink urban diversity. As well as having access to a metro station, participants were free to include multiple functions such as residential, food services, shops, etc. Over twenty projects were received and many included shared outdoor space or a walkway flowing through the site, offering intimate living spaces as opposed to the public space located on the main urban artery. We can equally identify the will to decompartmentalize, to divide built space, allowing us to see each living unit in relationship with the next (for example, a stacking of blocks, different angles, color contrasts, etc.). Finally, given that integration and exploration of new sustainable strategies is a part of the concept in this competition (thus not relying on the feasible nature of the project) participants seized the opportunity to create impressive and innovative green systems.

The second component (Vancouver Secondary) was projected toward a higher density residential neighbourhood. The participants were invited to rethink traditional city block configuration while conserving the individual homes that occupy them. Within the 24 submissions, many projects proposed a lifestyle based on sharing green space, and developed “interior densification”, consisting in creating small individual homes which occupy part of the large backyards belonging to existing homes. One of the projects even imagined an underground densification! With housing proximity in mind, many submissions planned for intergenerational housing, developing projects capable of evolving with families, permitting long term growth of the single family home.

The third component (Vancouver Wild Cart) was an exploratory and open reflection consisting in removing the boundaries of sustainable design, both in the building envelope, and with innovative living styles. Any ideas providing advancement in environmentally friendly architecture were welcome, and over forty projects were submitted. One idea that has been growing in popularity is urban agriculture, and has been a recurring idea in this competition, while however taking on surprising shapes (green roofs permitting agriculture were present, but also systems utilising vertical building surfaces). The scale was variable and changed between projects since participants were free to choose the site. This provided participants with a unique opportunity to voice their ideas on certain sites or neighbourhoods within Vancouver. For example, one project submitted a detailed plan for a pedestrian bridge, acting as an “eco-connector” between two peninsulas, which offered a variety of cultural and agricultural spaces.

In conclusion, this competition offered an opening to innovation and exploration in the study of formal, technical, social and ethical practices. Without having to worry about the immediate feasibility of the projects, the organisers will have a great deal of innovative reflection regarding Vancouver's future on their hands. With a total of 84 submissions, this large scale brainstorming probably involved a few hundred designers which, thanks to public viewing of the projects, will have planted a seed in a big part of Canada's architectural community, if not internationally.
(Translated by David Grenier)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 122 documents

Brainstorming Vancouver

par Camille Crossman, publié le 2011-04-22
On connaissait le dynamisme de l’Ouest canadien, mais avec le concours Formshift organisé en 2009, Vancouver a montré que l’on pouvait miser sur l’exploration architecturale pour réfléchir sur l’avenir de leur ville. Dans ce concours, ce ne fut pas un thème, mais trois questions que les organisateurs ont adressées aux concurrents. Les deux premiers volets proposaient des sites fictifs représentant des réalités typiques et des enjeux différents de Vancouver (artères principales et commerciales versus artères secondaires et résidentielles) tandis que le troisième était laissé au choix.

Le premier volet (Vancouver Primary) proposait de concevoir un projet situé en milieu urbain, sur la tête de l’ilot d’une artère principale, et de repenser la mixité des usages. Outre l’accès à une station de métro, les participants étaient libres d’intégrer les fonctions de leur choix; logements, cafés, boutiques, etc. Sur la vingtaine de projets reçus, plusieurs ont intégré des aires extérieures communes ou un passage piéton traversant le site, afin d’offrir des espaces de vie plus intimes que l’artère principale et des lieux de rencontre aux usagers. On remarque également une volonté de décloisonnement (ou une division) de la masse bâtie, qui met en relief chacune des unités d’habitation les unes par rapport aux autres (empilements de blocs, usage de la couleur, jeux d’angles, etc.). Enfin, l’intégration, mais surtout l’exploration de stratégies durable étant un aspect important dans ce concours d’idées (donc n’étant pas préoccupé outre mesure par la faisabilité immédiate des projets), les participants ont saisi l’opportunité d’imaginer des systèmes de verdissement parfois surprenants.

Le second volet (Vancouver Secondary) avait pour problématique la densification d’un quartier résidentiel. Les participants étaient invités à repenser la configuration traditionnelle de l’ilot, tout en conservant les résidences individuelles qui s’y trouvaient déjà. Parmi les 24 projets reçus, plusieurs ont supposé un mode de vie basé sur le partage des espaces verts et ont développé l’idée d’une densification « par l’intérieur » en concevant de petites maisons individuelles occupant une partie des grandes cours arrière des maisons existantes. Un des projets est même allé jusqu’à imaginer une densification en sous-terrain! Dans l’idée d’une telle proximité, plusieurs propositions ont exploité le scénario des résidences intergénérationnelles en développant leurs projets d’architecture en fonction de l’évolution de la cellule familiale à long terme.

Le troisième volet (Vancouver Wild Card) proposait une réflexion ouverte et exploratoire ayant pour objectif de repousser les limites du design durable tant au niveau de l’enveloppe que de l’usage des bâtiments de grande et de petite envergure. Toute idée explorant des moyens de rendre l’architecture plus écologique était permise et une quarantaine de projets ont été déposés. L’idée de plus en plus populaire de l’agriculture urbaine est récurrente bien qu’elle prenne parfois des formes surprenantes (exploitant bien entendu les toitures, mais également les surfaces latérales des bâtiments). Les projets de ce volet sont d’échelle variable puisque le site était laissé au choix. Dès lors, les participants avaient une occasion unique de communiquer leurs idées quant à l’usage de certains sites ou secteurs de la ville de Vancouver, comme c’est le cas d’un des projets qui conçoit en détail un pont piéton (ou un « éco-connecteur ») reliant deux presqu’îles et offrant des espaces d’agriculture et de loisirs.

Pour terminer, ajoutons que ce concours d’idées fait preuve d’une remarquable ouverture à l’innovation et à l’exploration tant formelle et technique que sociale et éthique. Sans être contraints par des critères de faisabilité immédiate, les récepteurs de ces projets auront véritablement su amasser de quoi alimenter leurs réflexions sur l’avenir de la ville de Vancouver. Avec au total 84 propositions de projets, ce remue-méninges de grande envergure a probablement fait réfléchir quelques centaines de concepteurs et qui, grâce au partage public des projets, feront aussi réfléchir l’ensemble de la communauté architecturale du Canada et d’ailleurs.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires