156 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 426 projects 42 638 documents

Champ-de-Mars neighborhood: A crossroads to urban innovation

by Simon D. Bergeron, published 2011-12-09
Two competitions, amassing a total of 78 submissions, were stepping stones toward a great collection of innovative ideas. Rethinking the development and planning around the Champ-de-Mars metro station was the goal of this “two in one” competition in which the first component addressed professionals and the second, students. This event has not only provided a great variety of contemporary ideas, but has also allowed both students and professionals to participate side by side.

The questionable nature of the crossroads formed by St-Laurent Boulevard and the Ville-Marie highway is not a recent topic of discussion. In June of 1997, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada had launched an international competition with the goal of amassing ideas on how to occupy the space at the crossroads between these urban arteries. While this competition received 116 submissions, it had not resulted in urban redevelopment. Twelve years later, the city of Montréal has proposed a competition of greater ambition, in which a larger surface area was to be involved. The site would span from the future site of the Université de Montréal's Hospital Center all the way to the Courthouse, it's northern border being the Saint-Laurent neighborhood, spanning to its southern border, the Champ-de-Mars.

This competition has received 78 different submissions, 47 in the professional category, and 31 from students. The challenge presented by this competition was to develop a 75,000 square meter zone located in front of Montreal's city hall. Situated at the intersection between the old and new Montreal and separated by St-Laurent Boulevard, which acts as the city's east-west divide, proposals had to transform this urban epicenter into an innovative architectural fulcrum. The competition managed to spark a great variety of forms and designs, while harvesting multiple visions on how the space must not only be occupied but also lived.

In regards to the professional component of the competition, two main approaches have emerged from the proposals. Some teams, inspired by the writings of Melvin Charney, opted to develop forms and architectural figures typical to Montreal, yet most teams decided to develop a contemporary urban architectural landscape. The way teams utilized context to develop their strategies varied widely however, as some teams have kept Marcelle-Ferron's canopy in mind, wanting to commemorate the atmosphere generated by the creative movement Total Refusal (Refus Global). Some have sought inspiration through global urban culture, while others have not hesitated to develop a singular approach, spectacular in its communication and in the spatial experience. Overall, each team managed to find its particular methodology and approach to spatial appropriation within the liberty provided by competitions searching for ideas.

Regarding the student's submissions, the proposals were developed in a very different tone in comparison to those of professionals. The ideas show great freedom with regard to constraints imposed by reality. Most proposals attempt to stimulate the imagination and appeal to an emotional experience. Rather than stating directly what should be physically built in provided spaces, the proposals reveal an ambiance that is meant to represent the spirit of this cornerstone of the city of Montreal. These ambiances are often generated through processes that rely on the urban or the history between the old and new Montreal, with many references to Marcelle-Ferron's work. Despite their diversity, a unanimous desire emerges to create a pleasant urban space where austerity is relegated to the past.

This event has reinforced, once again, the idea that Montreal is becoming a theatre for architectural competitions and urban projects, especially since the arrival of the “Réalisons Montréal” initiative: UNESCO city of design. Of all the competitions supported by this initiative, the development of the Champ-de-Mars neighbourhood has amassed the largest number of submissions. Having been free of cost and architectural program constraints, each and every project has provided its own vision on how to live our city, as opposed to simply building it. Furthermore, this competition has imprinted on notional architecture a mass of rich ideas of which the impact will manifest itself in the effervescence of architecture and urbanism.
(Translated by David Grenier)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 122 documents

Quartier Champ-de-Mars : Carrefour des idées urbaines

par Simon D. Bergeron, publié le 2011-12-09
Deux concours, 78 propositions, un grand lieu de rencontre des idées. Une réflexion sur l’aménagement des abords du métro Champ-de-Mars en deux concours d’idées, l’un s’adressant aux professionnels et l’autre aux étudiants. Non seulement cet événement a-t-il permis de faire ressortir les variétés des regards contemporains, mais il a fait travailler parallèlement professionnels et étudiants.

La problématique de ce secteur, au carrefour du boulevard Saint-Laurent et de l’autoroute Ville-Marie, n’est pas nouvelle. Déjà, en juin 1997, l’Institut royal d’architecture du Canada avait lancé un concours international d’idées sur la manière d’occuper l’espace de croisement entre ces deux artères. Bien que ce concours ait réuni 116 concurrents, il n’a conduit à aucun réaménagement. 12 ans plus tard, la Ville de Montréal propose une réflexion encore plus ambitieuse, en appelant les concurrents à travailler sur une aire d’intervention plus importante, du futur Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal au Palais de justice, le site était bordé au nord par le faubourg Saint-Laurent et au sud par le Champ-de-Mars.

Ce concours a recueilli 78 propositions différentes, 47 dans le volet professionnel et 31 dans le volet étudiant.
Le défi à réaliser pour les concurrents était d’aménager un secteur d’approximativement 75 000 m2 directement en face de l’hôtel de ville. À la rencontre entre la vieille ville et le nouveau Montréal, traversé par le boulevard Saint-Laurent, qui sépare l’ouest et l’est de la ville, les propositions devaient métamorphoser ce noyau urbain, actuellement peu exploité, en un réel pivot architectural. Le concours d’idées a non seulement apporté une grande variété de formes et de propositions, mais aussi de nombreuses visions inédites sur ce que devrait être cet espace et comment la vie devrait s’y dérouler.

En ce qui a trait au volet « professionnel », deux approches principales se dégagent à travers les propositions. Certaines équipes s’inscrivent dans le courant des formes et figures en architecture montréalaise, issu des écrits de Melvin Charney, alors que la grande majorité propose une approche d’urbanisme de paysage contemporain. À travers ces deux démarches, une variété d’approches au contexte a été utilisée par les concurrents pour développer leurs propositions. Certains ont tenu compte de la verrière de Marcelle-Ferron, cherchant à prolonger ou à commémorer l’esprit créatif du mouvement du refus global. D’autres ont plutôt cherché dans la culture urbaine globale leur source d’inspiration. Les troisièmes n’hésitèrent pas à construire une démarche singulière, spectaculaire dans la communication et l’expérience des lieux. Dans tous les cas, chacun a trouvé une manière particulière de s’approprier l’espace de liberté offert par le concours d’idées.

En ce qui concerne le volet « étudiant », les propositions ont été conçues sur un ton fort différent de celles des professionnels. Les idées manifestent une grande liberté à l’égard des contraintes posées par la réalité. La plupart des propositions tentent de stimuler l’imaginaire et en appellent à l’expérience sensible du lieu. À la place d’énoncer directe- ment ce qui devrait être construit dans l’espace aménagé, les propositions révèlent une atmosphère qui entend représenter « l’esprit » de ce lieu charnière de la ville de Montréal. Et ces atmosphères sont souvent générées à travers des processus qui s’appuient sur les grandes lignes de la trame urbaine ou de l’histoire entre la vieille et la nouvelle ville, avec de nombreuses allusions à l’œuvre de Marcelle-Ferron. Des propositions étudiantes se dégage une volonté unanime de faire de ce lieu un espace où la vie est agréable et où l’austérité caractéristique est reléguée au passé.

Avec cet événement, force est de constater que Montréal s’affirme, depuis quelques années, comme un théâtre de concours d’architecture et de projets urbains, en particulier depuis la mise en place de l’initiative Réalisons Montréal : Ville UNESCO de Design. De tous les concours organisés sous cette bannière, l’aménagement des abords du métro Champ-de-Mars a rassemblé le plus de propositions. Non contraint par des coûts ou un programme spécifique, chacun a su amener sa vision d’un projet qui ne représenta pas qu’une manière de bâtir un secteur, mais bel et bien une manière de vivre sa ville. Qui plus est, ce concours a imprégné dans l’imaginaire architectural une richesse d’idées dont l’impact ne manquera pas de se manifester dans le monde en effervescence de l’architecture et de l’urbanisme. Affaire à suivre.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires