159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

Beyond Branding: Design Competition and Urban Identity

by Denis Bilodeau, published 2012-11-03
Launched in 2007, POTO:TYPE Design Competition set the stage for a critical reflection and an exploratory study of the high-rise, high-density residential typology of downtown Vancouver. The name “POTO:TYPE” is the union of the podium and tower type, and as such it is composed of a tall narrow tower atop of a roughly four-story high podium. The result is enhanced views as well as a closer relation to the street's scale. As can be found in Manhattan and Hong Kong, this skyscraper typology, developed in the 1990s, has become part of the metropolitan identity of Vancouver.

In the design competition brief, however, the uniform expansion of this monofunctional typology on ever-growing urban territories is perceived as an environmental, socioeconomic and cultural problem. Due to real estate pressure, this typology of buildings is endangering the urban identity of Vancouver's various neighbourhoods by creating a banalized cityscape. Thus, alternative solutions to the podium/tower type must be studied in order to promote the sustainable development of the city, more specifically in the respect of urban diversity.

POTO:TYPE Design Competition was organized at a critical time in Vancouver's politics regarding urban planning. It was initially organized by a group of architectural interns and then sponsored by many cultural and professional organizations that hold the promotion of architectural excellence at heart, such as the Architectural Foundation of British Columbia, the Architectural Institute of British Columbia, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Canadian Centre for Architecture, and last but not least the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture of University of British Columbia. In 2006, Vancouver hosted the World Urban Forum, event organized under the aegis of the United Nations. It was a particularly symbolic event for the city; commemorating the first ever World Urban Forum. Launched 40 years before in the same city in response to the exemplary positions Vancouver had taken regarding environmental issues. Newly elected Mayor Sam Sullivan took this opportunity to collaborate with environmentalist and community activist groups in order to launch the Eco Density program. This program was established to highlight of the importance of densification in Vancouver, as basis for a sustainable development approach that would also respect its environmental diversities.

Brent Toderian, new Director of Planning of the City of Vancouver, was in charge of Eco Density program and was also involved in POTO:TYPE Design Competition as a member of the jury. The jury was composed of many committed professionals and institutional officials that were highly aware of the issues concerning architectural modernity and cultural specificity in Canada. Leading figures such as James Cheng, Patricia Patkau and George Yu sat on the board, along with Rhodri Windsor-Liscombe, an architectural historian and Director of the Art History, Visual Art and Theory Department of University of British Columbia, a renowned specialist of Vancouver's modern architecture. Architect Scott Kemp acted as professional advisor during the process.

James Cheng's presence on the jury is particularly significant, for he is considered as the principal instigator of podium/tower typology. The extent of his architectural practice and the impact of “poto type” on urban regulations are in part responsible for the particular quality of Vancouver's urban landscape. However, as pointed out by Trevor Boddy, James Cheng is also one of the first to have promoted the development of new solutions in order to renew, enhance and diversify residential architecture in Vancouver.

Forty-five proposals from six different countries were submitted for the POTO:TYPE Design Competition. There was a three-way tie for the winning proposal, and two honourable mentions were also awarded. Recurring themes, the most popular being hybridization, stood out from the different submissions. These hybridizations were mostly characterized by the increase of programmatic diversity in the buildings, combining residential functions, office functions, various services, recreational functions, and commercial spaces. Another key element recurring in the various proposals were flexible spaces, as they enable spaces capable of adapting to changes in occupancy. Finally, several projects proposed a porous architecture in order to promote a better relationship between the buildings and their environment.

If we consider typologies, the design competition displayed a extensive catalogue of solutions that can be linked to different contemporary experimental approaches in high-rise building development.

Among the winners, the Folding Scraper project by Italian architects Stefania Papitto and Gianluca Evels is a formal and spatial fusion between the podium and tower types, merged together by a continuous surface bending and folding onto itself. Distributed inside a structure of columns and cantilevered slabs, container boxes were part of the main spatial strategy as a way of providing numerous interstitial spaces for public activities.

Along those lines, a team from Toronto imagined the construction of a high-rise building as a vertical strip, directly resulting of a perpendicular projection of the podium type, a tower which would span several city blocks.

The third winning proposal by OTO, from Cleveland Heights, Ohio, addressed the tower type more specifically. OTO Open Tower proposed an alternative between POTO (Podium Tower) and COTO (Courtyard Tower). Thus, the Tower is opened, perforated, cut down and raised in order to allow a fluid relationship with urban life, environment, air and light. The Podium, with its public spaces and gardens, undulates and slides under the Tower.

The honourable mentions were awarded to teams from Vancouver. Both proposed more radical typological solutions. Tony Wai and Christa Min's project, Stackhouse, was a reinterpretation of the “theorem”, first published in Life magazine in 1909 and used by Rem Koolhaas in Delirious New York. It is a tower comprised of open infrastructure, and surfaces, also called “generic fields”, which, overlapped, allowed a gradual accumulation of multiple self-standing projects.

Lastly, “The Lost Typology: Rebuilding Diversity in the Shadow of Big Development” presents what could be perceived as biggest critique of “poto type” hegemony by proposing a completely different typology, based on buildings with mixed functions that addressed a more local approach at the scale of the block.

Among the other submissions, there were also examples of “Inverted Towers”, “Green Towers”, “Twisted Towers”, and “Bridge Towers”. Some imaginative proposals were submitted, such as “Aerial Vancouver”, a floating megastructure recalling the technological utopias of the 1970s, and “Viral City”, an organic system of horizontal and vertical spatial sprawl able to contaminate the entire city. Others followed a new trend, that of landscape urbanism. The project “Vancouverism, Changing the Rules of the Game” wanted to transform the urban regulations that nurtured the development of Vancouver over the past decades to encourage an ecological reinvention of Vancouver's urban identity by putting the market forces at the service of the city. In this perspective, the “poto type” and any typological normalization effort are problematic. Bottom/up planning process, networking urbanism, local opportunity, genius loci, and diversity become the new vocabulary of urban planning.

Very few design competitions in Canada have allowed the architectural community to address the design of extensive real estate developments the way that POTO:TYPE has. These projects are generally initiated and funded by private developers with little interest in submitting their projects to public debates and consultations. However, the design of residential towers, office buildings or a commercial complex often has a far greater influence on the urban landscape than the construction of museums, theatres or even a city hall. Contrarily to the latter, the repetition and proliferation of these ordinary typologies raise a key question regarding environmental quality and community welfare. As it happens, POTO:TYPE Design Competition originality lies in this taken opportunity to attract attention on these crucial issues in an encouraging political context.

Translated by Eloïse Choquette
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 488 projets 42 994 documents

Au-delà du « branding » : concours d'architecture et identité urbaine

par Denis Bilodeau, publié le 2012-11-03
Le concours d’idée Poto:Type lancé en 2007 invitait à une réflexion critique et un travail exploratoire sur la typologie de l’architecture résidentielle à haute densité du centre-ville de Vancouver. Poto:Type réfère à « podium/tower type », un modèle composé d’une haute tour étroite, conçue pour profiter au mieux des vues, et installée sur un podium d’en moyenne quatre étages de haut, pour répondre à l’échelle de la rue. À l’instar des gratte-ciel de Manhattan ou de ceux de Hong Kong, cette typologie d’édifices en hauteur qui s’est développée à partir des années 1990 en est venue à caractériser l’identité métropolitaine de Vancouver.

Dans l’énoncé du concours, on explique par contre, que la prolifération uniforme de ce type monofonctionnel sur un territoire de plus en plus vaste, en réponse à la pression immobilière a graduellement engendré une banalisation du paysage et contribué à affaiblir l’identité des différents quartiers de la ville, avec des conséquences environnementales, socio-économiques et culturelles notables. L’exploration de solutions alternatives à la typologie de la « podium/tower » devait donc être envisagée d’un point de vue urbain, en tenant compte des différents enjeux sous-jacents à la construction d’une ville durable, en particulier le respect de la diversité.

Organisé par un groupe de stagiaires en architecture et subventionné par plusieurs organismes culturels et professionnels engagés dans la promotion de la qualité architecturale, tels que l’Architectural Fondation of British Columbia, l’Architectural Institute of British Columbia, l’Institut royal d’architecture du Canada, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Centre Canadien d’Architecture et enfin l’École d’architecture et d’architecture de paysage de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, ce concours arrive à un moment critique dans l’évolution des politiques de planification urbaine de la ville de Vancouver. En 2006, Vancouver est l’hôte du Forum mondial des villes, organisé sous l’égide des Nations Unies. Il s’agit d’un évènement symbolique, car on y célèbre en même temps le trentième anniversaire du premier Forum mondial des villes tenu en 1976 à Vancouver même, où pour la première fois, la ville avait été reconnue pour ses positions exemplaires en matière environnementale. Pour l’occasion, le maire nouvellement élu en 2005, Sam Sullivan, se joint à un groupe d’environnementalistes et d’activistes communautaires afin d’annoncer le lancement du programme EcoDensity qui réitère pour Vancouver, la valeur du principe de densification comme base du développement durable dans le cadre d’une approche respectant la diversité des environnements.

Brent Toderian, le nouveau directeur de la planification (Director of Planning) de la ville, responsable du programme EcoDensity, fait partie du jury du concours Poto:Type. Avec lui siègent plusieurs importants acteurs professionnels et institutionnels engagés, sensibles à la problématique de la relation entre modernité architecturale et spécificité culturelle au Canada. On y retrouve les architectes James Cheng, Patricia Patkau et George Yu, de même que Rhodri Windsor-Liscombe, historien de l’architecture et directeur du département d’histoire de l’art de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique, spécialiste reconnu de l’architecture moderne de Vancouver. L’architecte Scott Kemp agit à titre de conseiller professionnel.

La présence de James Cheng sur le jury est particulièrement significative. Celui -ci est en effet considéré comme le principal auteur de la typologie « podium/tower » et l’un des grands responsables de la qualité particulière du paysage urbain de Vancouver tant par l’ampleur de sa pratique que par l’impact du « poto type » sur la règlementation urbaine. Comme le souligne le critique Trevor Boddy, James Cheng est aussi l’un des premiers à avoir encouragé le développement d’alternatives visant à renouveler, enrichir et diversifier l’architecture résidentielle de Vancouver.

Quarante-cinq propositions provenant de six pays différents ont été soumises au concours Poto:Type et trois ont été primées ex aequo. Deux mentions honorables ont aussi été attribuées. Certains thèmes ressortent de façon récurrente des différentes propositions, dont avant tout l’hybridation soit, l’augmentation du niveau de mixité pro- grammatique des bâtiments combinant espaces résidentiels, de bureau, de service, de loisir et de commerce. De nombreuses propositions mettent aussi de l’avant la flexibilité des espaces pour les rendre capables de s’adapter aux changements d’occupations. Enfin, plusieurs proposent une architecture poreuse favorisant les échanges entre les bâtiments et leur environnement.

Au niveau typologique le concours déploie un catalogue de solutions que l’on peut pour la plupart rapprocher des différents courants d’expérimentation contemporains dans le domaine de l’architecture des édifices en hauteur.

Parmi les lauréats, mentionnons d’abord le Folding Scraper des architectes italiens Stefania Papitto et Gianluca Evels qui opère une fusion spatiale et formelle entre l’architecture du podium et celle de la tour reliée entre eux par une surface continue qui se plie et se replie. La stratégie d’organisation spatiale fait appel à l’utilisation de container boxes distribuées à l’intérieur d’une structure de colonnes et de dalles en porte-à-faux laissant une grande quantité d’espaces interstitiels pour des activités publiques.

Dans le même esprit, une équipe de Toronto a imaginé la construction d’un édifice en hauteur sous forme de barre verticale, résultat direct d’une projection à 90 degrés, de l’architecture d’un podium incorporant plusieurs îlots.

Le projet OTO, de la troisième équipe lauréate provenant de Cleveland Heights en Ohio, questionne plus directement la typologie de la tour. OTO (Open Tower) offre une alternative à POTO (Podium Tower) et à COTO (Courtyard Tower). II s’agit d’une tour ouverte, perforée, coupée et soulevée de façon à permettre une relation fluide avec l’environnement, les activités urbaines, l’air et la lumière. Le podium, qui comprend des espaces publics et des jardins, ondule et glisse sous la tour.

Les projets retenus pour des mentions sont issus de Vancouver. Ces derniers offrent des alternatives typologiques plus radicales. Stackhouse de Tony Wai et Christa Min est une réinterprétation du theorem paru dans le magazine Life en 1909 et reproduit par Rem Koolhaas dans Delirious New York. Il s’agit d’une tour constituée d’une infrastructure ouverte de surfaces ou « terrains » génériques superposés permettant l’accumulation graduelle de multiples projets individuels.

Enfin, The Lost Typology : Rebuilding Diversity in the Shadow of Big Development exprime peut-être la critique la plus ancrée de l’hégémonie du « poto type », offrant une typologie totalement différente de bâtiments à usages mixtes opérant de façon plus locale à l’échelle de la parcelle.

Parmi les autres soumissions, on retrouvera par exemple des Inverted Towers, Green towers, Twisted towers et Bridge towers. Des projets plus étranges sont aussi du nombre ; Aerial Vancouver, une mégastructure aérienne conçue dans l’esprit des utopies technologique des an- nées 1970, et Viral City, un système organique de prolifération spatial, horizontal et vertical, capable de « contaminer » la ville entière. D’autre s’inscrivent dans la nouvelle vague du landscape urbanisme. Le projet Vancouverism, Changing the Rules of the Game suggère de transformer le cadre réglementaire qui a régi la construction à Vancouver depuis les dernières décennies, pour mettre les forces du marché au service d’une réinvention écologique de l’identité urbaine de la ville, dans cette perspective le «poto type» ou même tout effort de normalisation typologique pose problème. Bottom/up planning process, networking urbanism, local opportunity, genius loci, diversity sont les nouveaux mots d’ordre.

Très peu de concours d’architecture au Canada ont permis d’aborder la conception de projets immobiliers de grande envergure. Ceux-ci relèvent généralement de l’initiative et du financement de promoteurs privés peu intéressés à sou- mettre leur projet au débat public. Pourtant la conception de tours résidentielles, d’édifices à bureau ou de complexes commerciaux a souvent un impact beaucoup plus important sur la ville que la réalisation d’un musée, d’un théâtre ou même d’un hôtel de ville. Ce ne sont pas des objets d’exception, mais plutôt des objets types dont la répétition et prolifération soulève des questions cruciales par rapport à la qualité de l’environnement et le bien de la collectivité. L’originalité du concours Poto:Type réside justement dans le fait d’avoir su profiter d’un contexte politique favorable pour attirer l’attention sur ces enjeux.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires