159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

Too much architecture, not enough landscape?

by Bernard-Félix Chénier, published 2016-03-29
A design competition for the Eastern Beach, (Montréal, 2013)

The design competition of the Eastern Beach highlights a complexity that lies in the affirmation of an integrated architectural landscape gesture, whose intention is to mend ties between the river and the community of Montreal. In the context of this competition, this issue has resurfaced out of the need for an integrative approach between the work of both landscape architects and architects. The collaborative efforts between the two disciplines stood out and the observed complementarity of their approaches was the decisive element in the selection of the winners.

Montrealers are well aware that they live on an island. However, the island lifestyle, when not completely absent, is little developed. It is important to note that this stigmatization is primarily due to the urban infrastructure. The design competition proposed the redevelopment of a site located in the east of the island of Montreal along the St. Lawrence River in the borough of Pointe-aux-Trembles. Proposals needed to promote access to the river while engaging with the concept of "the fantastic beach". This type of intervention combines architecture and landscape, recalling the movement of large North American parks of the 19th century while correlating with a more contemporary current rehabilitation of urban brownfields. The New York Highline, the Samuel de Champlain promenade in Quebec City, the Point Pleasant Park in Nova Scotia, the Sugar Beach in Ontario, the Smith Walk in Griffintown and the beach of the clock in Montreal are all contemporary examples that testify to this trend oriented towards the sublimation of urban landscapes. All considered, it is impressive that more than 36 proposals were submitted of which five were selected as finalists.

One of the objectives of the competition was the complementarity between the architectural and landscape interventions. Submitted projects clearly illustrated the complexity associated with built forms integrated into the landscape. Thereafter, these architectural interventions can be divided into two categories; “dropped” architecture as opposed to an “emerging architecture”.

While the competition is organised by the Design Bureau of Montreal UNESCO, the CCC does not have access to all the submitted proposals, thus, the five finalists were analyzed in order to identify significant elements. These projects demonstrated the potential of appropriated public space by way of contemplative recreational activities on top of thoroughly illustrating clear concepts.

The project “Les plages de l’Est” about Microclimate architecture and Landscape Versions, offers an architectural intervention so that the infrastructure is concentrated in a circumscribed area. This organization allows the expansion of the rest of the "natural" program, increasing the possibilities for contact with the river landscape and water activities. The tower, while acting as a flagship, is imposing and massive; observed by the jury as a contradiction when integrated in the surrounding environment. The projection of a potential development-area for public and private infrastructure is attractive to recover the investment and revitalize the area around the site. Nevertheless, this proposal remains unclear and may give way to excess, compromising the balance between landscape and architectural intervention.

The work attributed to Atelier Barda and NIP Paysage is an intervention meticulously integrated in the context with rich and diverse plants. This landscape based concept is both flexible and well structured, leading us to predict an orderly development. However, the tower is treated with little care leading to a significant impact when integrated in context. So to speak “dropped architecture,” it seems that the landscape has priority over the trademark architecture.

The architectural proposal by Rousseau Lefebvre JPB Group and Architects offers a balance contradicting their precedent, evoking weariness of both the “S” shaped dock and the experimental parametric forms seemingly lacking control. Despite being an example for which architecture induces discomfort, this proposal remains a sensitive suggestion to treat the natural typology by way of landscaped unites such as the asparagus farm, the orchard, as well as the dunes and deciduous trees along the St. Lawrence River.

An analogue approach is perceptible in the proposal by Vlan Paysage and The Commons. They have applied the notion of creating “sites” for which the complimentary characteristics allow for the generation of a strong idea. The fisherman’s dock, the forest clearing, the terrace, the “Quai-des-Brume,” the frog marsh, and the dune; these qualify and enrich their intervention. Rather than relying on a conventional architectural intervention, the proposal emphasised the potential of recreating the profile of the site. By this, Vlan Paysage and The Commons proposed an architectural intervention that emerges from the landscape by capitalising on the existing topography and natural parameters. Despite conceptual strengths, the intended devices of this proposal do not assure the continuity between the concept and the proposition. As for the perspectives, they reveal a vast unlimited space even though the existing site is relatively delimited.

Ruccolo Faubert and Ni + landscape architecture design proposed a structured vision that integrates the landscape. Several architectural and landscape features have been put in place to promote access to the riverbank and to increase public space appropriation. The jury appreciated the surveying work that was in a spirit consistent with the natural environment. In addition, the synergy between the site and the potential activities, the contact with the river, the adaptability in time and the creation of its own identity in the neighborhood are together strong elements that have played for this winning proposal. Note that the ideas are expressed simply and clearly, all relatively didactic without overloading the proposal. The building induces a symbiosis between architecture and landscape by a unified topographical gesture. The building emerges from the site by means of a structured jetty creating both a path for walking and a roof structure. Paradoxically, the gesture of integrating the building to the landscape is not without problems, it highlights certain issues including the daunting space created underneath the structure.

This competition has highlighted the complexity associated with the integration of architecture and landscape in a river setting. In this regard, the design competition of the eastern beach demonstrates the inherent complementarity to the disciplines of architecture and landscape. The competition organizers have probably minimized the impact of a broader view of the problem of the access to the river, preferring to throw their sights on a small patch of the East of the island. This begs the question; why not orient this competition towards a broader horizon, to enable potential access to the banks of the St. Lawrence River at a metropolitan scale?

(English version revised by Chantal Auger)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

154 concours documentés 415 concours répertoriés
4 370 projets 42 503 documents

Trop d’architecture, pas assez de paysage?

par Bernard-Félix Chénier, publié le 2016-03-29
En appelant à redonner l’accès au fleuve Saint-Laurent aux citoyens de Montréal, le concours de design de la plage de l’Est a mis en évidence la complexité de l’affirmation d’un geste architectural intégré au paysage, par delà l’intention de retisser des liens entre le fleuve et la communauté. La complémentarité des interventions entre architectes et architectes paysagistes s’est avérée un élément décisif pour la sélection des lauréats et certaines propositions ont démontré une sensibilité inédite.

Les Montréalais sont bien conscients qu’ils vivent sur une île. Toutefois, le mode de vie insulaire n’est que très peu mis en valeur, lorsqu’il n’est pas complètement absent. Il importe de reconnaître que les infrastructures urbaines ont contribué à cette stigmatisation. Ce concours proposait le réaménagement d’un site vacant au bord du fleuve Saint- Laurent dans l’arrondissement Pointe-aux-Trembles, à l’est de l’île de Montréal. Les propositions devaient impérativement favoriser l’accès au fleuve par un concept de « plage remarquable ». Ce type d’intervention unissant l’architecture et le paysage faisait écho au mouvement des grands parcs nord-américains du 19e siècle, tout en le resituant dans un courant plus contemporain de réhabilitations des friches urbaines. Le Highline de New York, la promenade Samuel de Champlain à Québec, Point Pleasant Park en NouvelleÉcosse, Sugar Beach en Ontario, la Promenade Smith dans le quartier Griffintown et la plage de l’horloge à Montréal sont autant d’exemples contemporains qui témoignent de cette tendance tournée vers la sublimation des paysages urbains. Il est toutefois remarquable qu’au terme de ce concours ce soient plus de 36 propositions qui ont été soumises, dont cinq seront sélectionnées comme finalistes.

L’un des objectifs visait la complémentarité entre l’intervention architecturale et paysagère. Si les projets soumis illustrent clairement la complexité associée à l’intégration du bâti dans le paysage, les interventions architecturales peuvent être divisées en deux catégories ; avec d’un côté une architecture « déposée », de l’autre une architecture que l’on peut qualifier d’émergente.

Le CCC n’ayant pas eu accès à l’ensemble des propositions soumises à ce concours organisé par le Bureau du design de la Ville de Montréal, les cinq projets finalistes ont été analysés afin d’en dégager les éléments significatifs. Les projets présentaient un fort potentiel d’appropriation par des activités récréatives et contemplatives en plus d’être soigneusement illustrés en montrant des concepts clairs.

Le projet « Les plages de l’Est » de Microclimat et Version Paysage propose une intervention architecturale compacte concentrant les infrastructures en une zone circonscrite. Cette disposition permet de dilater le reste du programme dit « naturel » en multipliant les possibilités de contact avec le paysage fluvial et les activités nautiques. La tour, qui fait office de phare, est à ce point imposante et massive que le jury l’a perçue comme une intervention contradictoire dans l’intégration au contexte. La projection d’une zone de développement potentielle pour des infrastructures publiques et privées s’offrait comme un moyen d’amortir les investissements et de dynamiser les abords du site. Néanmoins, ce type de proposition reste d’une définition plutôt floue, pouvant laisser place à des excès, risquant de compromettre l’équilibre entre l’intervention paysagère et architecturale.

Du côté de l’équipe formée de l’Atelier Barda et NIPpaysage, la proposition est méticuleusement intégrée au contexte grâce à une intervention végétale riche et diversifiée. Le concept d’aménagement est à la fois souple et bien structuré, laissant prévoir une évolution harmonieuse. Toutefois, la tour est traitée avec trop peu de soins, ce qui a un impact notable sur l’intégration au contexte. L’approche paysagère domine sur cette architecture pour ainsi dire « déposée ».

La proposition architecturale du Groupe Rousseau Lefebvre et JPB architectes offre un équilibre contraire au précédent au point que certains questionnements persistent quant à la pertinence d’un quai en « S » ainsi qu’un bâtiment évoquant certaines expérimentations paramétriques dont la forme manque de contrôle. Il s’agit ici d’un exemple d’architecture propre à susciter un certain malaise. Il faut souligner que la proposition du Groupe Rousseau Lefebvre et JPB architectes reste sensible à la typologie naturelle par la conception d’unités paysagères telle que l’aspergeraie, le verger, les dunes et les feuillus du Saint-Laurent.

Une approche analogue est perceptible dans la proposition de Vlan Paysage et The Commons Inc, prenant le parti de créer des « lieux » dont les caractéristiques complémentaires permettent de générer une identité forte. Le quai des pêcheurs, la clairière, la terrasse, le quai des brumes, l’étang aux grenouilles et la dune qualifient et enrichissent l’intervention. La proposition mise davantage sur la création d’un nouveau profil du site plutôt que par une intervention architecturale conventionnelle. Il s’agit d’une intervention architecturale qui émerge du paysage en tirant profit de la topographie et des paramètres naturels. Malgré la force conceptuelle de l’intervention, les dispositifs mis en place n’assurent pas la continuité entre le concept et la proposition et les perspectives révèlent un espace vaste aux limites imperceptibles, en dépit du fait que le site soit relativement circonscrit.

Le projet de Ruccolo + Faubert Architectes inc. et Ni conception architecture de paysage apporte une vision structurante qui intègre le paysage. Plusieurs dispositifs architecturaux et paysagers ont été mis en place afin de favoriser l’accès aux berges en plus de multiplier le potentiel d’appropriation. Le jury a apprécié le travail topographique dans un esprit cohérent avec le contexte naturel. De surcroît, la synergie entre le site et les activités potentielles, le contact avec le fleuve, l’adaptabilité dans le temps et la création d’une identité propre au quartier sont des éléments forts de la proposition qui ont joué en faveur des lauréats. Il faut souligner que les idées y sont exprimées simplement et clairement, le tout étant relativement didactique sans surcharger les interventions. Le bâtiment induit une symbiose entre l’architecture et le paysage par une perversion topographique. Le bâtiment émerge du site par le moyen d’une jetée structurante servant à la fois de structure de promenade et de toiture. Paradoxalement, l’intégration du bâtiment au paysage donne à anticiper quelques problèmes, notamment par l’espace créé sous la structure qui, par endroits, semble rébarbatif.

Ce concours met en évidence la délicate question de l’intégration de l’architecture et du paysage dans un contexte fluvial et démontre la complémentarité inhérente à ces disciplines du « design de l’espace public ». Les organisateurs du concours ont probablement minimisé l’impact d’une vision plus large de la problématique d’accès au fleuve, préférant jeter leur dévolu sur une petite parcelle de l’est de l’île. Une question demeure : pourquoi ne pas avoir orienté ce concours vers un horizon plus large, afin d’activer le potentiel d’accès aux berges du fleuve Saint-Laurent à une échelle métropolitaine ?
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires