150 competitions documented 411 competitions listed
4 274 projects 42 109 documents

Ideas, vinyl and Pan American Games in Toronto

by Georges Adamczyk, published 2013-01-25
One year before the 2016 Olympic games in Rio de Janeiro, athletes from over forty countries in the Americas will gather in Toronto for the Pan American Games. The area of the city chosen for these games lies to the east of the downtown core, thus extending the urban renewal that had begun several decades prior in the St. Lawrence Market area and Distillery District. The chosen area lies immediately north of the waterfront, where a need for redevelopment resulted in several major design competitions dealing with questions of urban landscape (see www.waterfrontoronto.ca).

With the Pan American Games as a backdrop, an international design competition for architecture students was organized in 2010 by the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) and was supported by two sponsors: The Vinyl Institute and the Canadian Plastics Industry Association (CPIA). The main objective of the competition was to design a pavilion for an outdoor ceremony, with seating for 4000 people and which could accommodate up to 7,000 people in an open space, extending the outdoor amphitheater. The magnitude of the stage, along with the proscenium, was set to 4400 square feet. To this were added technical rooms, locker rooms and other services.

The projects, which were submitted as graphic panels enriched by a 30-second video, had strict criteria established for the judgment:
- The intelligent and appropriate use of products (not restricted to those available on the market), and the exploration of the potential applications of vinyl as a building material
- The application of the principles of sustainable and universal design for the development of building and site
- The ability to propose an original concept

Within the area planned for the Pan American Games, the competitors could choose to intervene on one of three proposed sites to either side of the Gardiner Expressway:
- The Athletes' Village
- The athletic fields
- The banks - Toronto Waterfront

The competition was of great complexity, and combined issues of scale, industrial innovations, a need for originality and logistical requirements. This may explain why only the seven winning projects are available for consultation. The other entries may have lacked criteria that the judges were looking for, and, thus, were not made available to the general public.

Two of the three proposed sites were more interesting to competitors. The Athletes' Village required teams to consider the long-term development of this new area of Toronto and the implementation of sustainable equipment. This site was chosen by two of the winners. The Waterfront, geographically open onto Toronto's port and the open water, had the potential to inspire more symbolic and creative projects in keeping with the city scale. This site was chosen by five of the winners.

Of the seven proposals we are able to present, the first-place winner is without a doubt the most original project, all the while fulfilling the three criteria mentioned above. These students from Switzerland named their project TKARONTO, the original name for Toronto. They were inspired by trees, and made a sort of canopy out of weather balloons filled with helium. The proposal shares aspects with Yves Klein's Air Architecture, from the 50s, or Ron Herron and Peter Cook's Instant City, from the 60s, and also the American Pavilion at the Osaka Universal Exposition in 1970, as well as Yona Friedman, Frei Otto and Hans-Walter Müller's work on light, suspended architectures. The team does not hesitate to reference Vers une architecture and the Victory Soja Mills Silo as a strong symbol. This architecture of light and air, floating between heaven and earth, from which emerges the large silo is quite "intelligent and appropriate" for the ready-made applications of vinyl and the development of a found object on an exceptional site.

Other proposals often fail to develop the chosen site by engaging in complex maneuvers such as the leveling, filling in, or excavation of the site. These maneuvers are often too important for the scale of the project. A particularly important aspect of three of the projects is the use of images inspired by muscle tension, circulatory pathways, or even the grace of geese in flight. Two projects explore lightweight structural systems, the first in a more classic way, using a kit of parts similar to Renzo Piano, as an answer to the requirements of assembly and disassembly, whereas the other is inspired by the Voronoï diagram and its algorithmic computation. The last proposal is a nod to research in kinetic architecture, which peaked in the 70s due to a newly discovered fascination with the F-111 fighter plane with convertible wings, the coming of the Goldorak to japonese television in 1975, and the Transformer in the United-States in 1984. These planes became moving avatars of metabolic architectures.

This type of student competitions has been credited to opening the mind to an architectural imagination that is forever recyclable. The competitors projects are far from a vinylic vision of the world, presenting on the contrary a rather a joyful and reassuring utopia. Lastly, the projects not available to us are, without a doubt, just as important as the winners and deserve to be assembled by the AIAS and offered to architecture students as vector for reflection, no matter how far-fetched they were deemed by the jury.

(Translated by Konstantina Theodosopoulos)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 535 projets 43 087 documents

Des idées, du vinyle et des jeux panaméricains à Toronto

par Georges Adamczyk, publié le 2013-01-25
Les jeux panaméricains auront lieu en 2015 à Toronto. Les athlètes de plus d’une quarantaine de pays des Amériques seront réunis, un an avant les Jeux olympiques de 2016 à Rio de Janeiro. Le secteur de la ville choisi pour ces jeux se trouve à l’est du centre-ville, prolongeant le renouveau urbain déjà engagé depuis plusieurs décades dans le quartier du marché Saint-Laurent et le quartier de la distillerie. Ce secteur se trouve immédiatement au nord du grand projet de réaménagement des rives, lequel a donné lieu à plusieurs grands concours d’architecture de paysage urbain.

Prenant ces jeux panaméricains comme contexte, un concours international d’architecture pour les étudiants a été organisé en 2010 par l’AIAS (American Institute of Architecture Students) et il a été soutenu par deux commanditaires: The Vinyl Institute et l’ACIP (l’Association Canadienne de l’Industrie des Plastiques). L’objet du concours était la conception d’un pavillon de cérémonie en plein air, offrant des sièges pour 4000 personnes et capable d’accueillir 7000autres personnes dans un espace ouvert prolongeant cet amphithéâtre extérieur. L’ampleur de la scène avec son proscenium était fixée à 4400 pieds carrés. À cela, s’ajoutaient des salles techniques, des vestiaires et des services divers. Parmi les critères principaux annoncés pour le jugement des projets soumis sous forme de planches graphiques complétées par une vidéo de 30 secondes, il faut noter les suivants :

• Utilisation intelligente et appropriée de produits (non restreinte à ceux qui seraient disponibles sur le marché) et exploration du potentiel des nouvelles applications du vinyle comme matériau de construction ;
• Application des principes de conception soutenable et universelle pour le développement du bâtiment et du site ;
• Capacité de proposer un concept original.

Dans le secteur prévu pour les jeux panaméricains, les concurrents devaient choisir d’intervenir sur l’un des trois sites proposés, de part et d’autre de l’autoroute Gardiner. Ces trois sites étaient identifiés ainsi :

• Le Village des athlètes ;
• Les terrains d’athlétisme ;
• Les rives – Toronto Waterfront.

On comprend la complexité du concours, combinant enjeux d’échelles, innovations industrielles, recherche d’originalité et exigences logistiques. Ceci expliquerait peut-être que hormis les sept lauréats, les projets des autres concurrents ne soient pas disponibles à la consultation, faute, sans doute, d’avoir répondu à toutes les questions posées.

Deux des sites proposés se sont avérés plus attrayants pour les concurrents. Le Village des athlètes imposait de penser à long terme l’aménagement de ce nouveau quartier de Toronto et l’implantation d’un équipement plus durable. Il a été choisi par deux des lauréats.

Le site du Waterfront, géographiquement ouvert sur le port et le grand large, était capable d’inspirer des créations plus symboliques et plus autonomes, à l’échelle de la métropole. Ce dernier a été choisi par cinq des lauréats. Des sept propositions que nous sommes en mesure de présenter, la proposition lauréate ayant obtenu le premier prix, est sans conteste la plus originale, rencontrant très bien les trois critères principaux. Étudiants de Suisse, les concepteurs de TKARONTO, le nom d’origine de Toronto, s’inspirent des arbres et fabriquent une sorte de canopée faite de ballons météorologiques gonflés à l’hélium. Cette proposition évoque l’Architecture de l’air de Yves Klein des années 50 ou encore l’Instant City de Ron Herron et Peter Cook dans les années 60, sans oublier le Pavillon américain à l’exposition universelle d’Osaka en 1970 et toutes ces architectures légères et suspendues de Yona Friedman, Frei Otto et Hans-Walter Müller. Les concurrents n’hésitent pas à retourner au temps de Vers une architecture en utilisant le silo de la Victory Soya Mills comme grand signal. Cette architecture d’air et de lumière, flottant entre terre et ciel, d’où émerge le grand silo, est tout à fait « intelligente et appropriée » dans ses applications ready-made du vinyle comme dans la mise en valeur d’un objet trouvé sur un site exceptionnel.

Les autres propositions peinent souvent à aménager le site choisi en s’engageant dans des manoeuvres complexes de terrassement, remblai ou déblai, souvent trop importantes pour un tel projet. On retiendra surtout, pour trois projets, le recours à des images s’inspirant soit des tensions musculaires, des parcours circulatoires ou en encore de la grâce des outardes en vol. Deux projets choisissent d’explorer la structure légère, l’une plus classique, mais répondant bien, par son jeu de pièces à la Renzo Piano, aux exigencesdu montage et du démontage, l’autre, plus exploratoire, s’inspirant du Diagramme de Voronoï et de son calcul algorithmique. Finalement, un projet nous ramène aux recherches d’architectures cinétiques, très prisées dans les années 70, alors que l’on découvrait avec fascination l’avion de chasse F-111 aux ailes transformables, juste avant que Goldorak entre en scène à la télévision japonaise en 1975, suivi des Transformers en 1984 aux É.-U., comme avatars animés des architectures métaboliques.

Ce type de concours étudiants a le grand mérite d’ouvrir à la pensée tout un imaginaire architectural qui ne demande qu’à être recyclé. Les concurrents sont bien loin d’une vision vinylique du monde et l’utopie qu’ils redécouvrent est plutôt joyeuse et rassurante. Sans aucun doute, aussi farfelues soient-elles, toutes les autres propositions auraient mérité d’être rassemblées par l’AIAS et offertes à la réflexion de tous les étudiants des écoles d’architecture.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires