205 competitions documented 451 competitions listed
5 409 projects 50 789 documents
Please, will you draw me an elementary school competition (about 5 competitions organized in Quebec by LAB-École in 2019-2020)
by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2020-08-23
In 2020, judging by the number of architecture competitions held in Quebec over the past two decades and the number of award-winning buildings, it is easier to find an excellent library than an elementary school worthy of the name. This series of 5 competitions - open and in two phases - organized by the LAB-École organization therefore confronted two contradictory convictions: the certainty that places of schooling forge and shape what we are since early childhood and this conviction, widespread among public decision-makers, that we could basically study and teach anywhere. Particularly well organized by LAB-École, these competitions show, on the contrary, that architecture is not a luxury, but a necessity. For contexts as different as Saguenay, Maskinongé, Rimouski, Gatineau and Shefford, the proposals prove to be rich in reflections demonstrating that the question of primary school remains complex and cannot be circumscribed in models that can be repeated - in blue, wood or aluminum - whatever the context.

The situation of elementary schools in Quebec has deteriorated to the point where it is the new national issue. Numerous studies on school architecture show the extraordinary attachment to the spaces and places that have accompanied, sometimes protected, and often built our childhoods. The old school would always be the most beautiful, the model that should be imposed on our children, so much so that many educational reforms have come up against this simple principle of attachment to the values of the past. In spite of political wishes or good architectural intentions, anyone who wants new educational structures, let alone new forms, should not impose new educational structures on the architecture of education. All the more so as the space of the first schooling is nowadays deployed in both physical and virtual registers. Moreover, many advocates of a pedagogical revolution essentially centred on digital technologies are hoping in this way to get around the obstacle of architectural quality.

Compared to practices in many countries, Canada organizes very few competitions for educational places. Of the 451 competitions held in the country since 1858, barely 8% are for education-related programs, mainly at the university level, and less than 2% for primary schools. Aside from the research-creation competition organized by LEAP in 2019 (see CCC, "Entre l’école et la ville") and, of course, the 5 LAB-École competitions, there remains only the remarkable historical case of the "provincial architecture competition for primary schools" organized in 1964 by the Government of Quebec (NB. Also documented in the CCC). There exists another competition held in Vancouver in 1970, but we have too little data to evaluate it. Subsequently, there were only a few largely university-based competitions in the 1970s and it was not until the 1990s that the aging building stock required further consultation and reflection. These were strongly encouraged by the numerous studies, often of a sociological nature, conducted in the Swiss, French and Scandinavian contexts. They will not have a significant influence on the introduction of competitions in Canada, despite the fact that in the late 1980s, a modest federal program led to an innovative school design process in British Columbia, thanks to Marie-Odile Marceau, then regional architect for the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

But, typically, and in contrast to the systematic recourse to competitions for school buildings in all European countries, it is legitimately surprising that schools have not been considered as a major architectural issue in North America. By comparison, there are few primary or secondary schools and sometimes kindergartens that have not gone through the competition process in countries such as France, Switzerland, Germany and all the Nordic countries that are now cited as examples in all discussions, in all articles and in the new competition programs in Quebec, including the five LAB-École competitions organized in 2019.

It will be argued that the competition procedure is not the only way to ensure architectural quality. No doubt, but the examination of the number of award-winning projects in the field of school architecture is just as distressing. Statistics, both in Quebec and in Canada, confirm the mistrust of educational authorities in the search for excellence or innovation. Over a period of four decades, less than thirty Canadian primary and secondary schools have been awarded prizes for excellence out of a total of several thousand achievements. In Quebec, the award-winning projects can be counted on the fingers of one hand: Baril Elementary School (2019), Saint-Louis College (2015), Barclay Elementary School (2014), Grande-Hermine Elementary School (2009) and Nikanik High School (1998).

Judging by the silence of Quebec public authorities since the 1964 competition, there is reason to fear that a revival of standardization – even if it focuses on the warmth of wood, the colour of the sky and the beautiful industrial coldness of aluminum – is nothing more than a repetition of past mistakes. Public policy shyness about the architectural quality of school buildings also means that designers – like researchers – need to better base their arguments and data when explaining that architectural quality helps to determine learning conditions and even supports academic success.

It is in this context that one must discover the abundant wealth of projects submitted to the various competitions organized by the LAB-École. While we sometimes focus on the 20 finalists divided into 5 sites, we must not forget the 140 other proposals conceived in the first phase of this rare series of open competitions. It is not the least merit of the LAB-École organization, under the impetus of architect Pierre Thibault and professional advisor Nicolas Marier, to have insisted that these competitions be open to all architects in the province. It should also be pointed out that LAB-École did not simply organize competitions, but that it revisited the architectural programs of Quebec's elementary schools by making the best use of the constraint of allocated areas or by redefining school spaces. Finally, each competition program was the subject of consultations with representatives of the communities concerned, while the juries included some of these local players. It was therefore not a centralizing vision of the school, but rather a case-by-case commitment.

Of course, the best architecture will not be a substitute for the resources devoted to education. One cannot separate the quality of schooling facilities from the quality of pedagogical supervision. The fact remains that the best of teachers cannot teach in the same way anywhere, including, and perhaps above all, by interposed screens. Many so-called civilized countries systematically organize competitions for schools, for each school. Why should it be any different in Quebec?

Jean-Pierre Chupin
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

206 concours documentés 452 concours répertoriés
5 479 projets 51 165 documents
S’il vous plaît, dessine-moi un concours d’école primaire (à propos des 5 concours organisés au Québec par le LAB-École en 2019-2020)
par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2020-08-23
En 2020, à en juger par le nombre de concours organisés au Québec depuis deux décennies et par le nombre d’édifices primés, il est plus facile de trouver une excellente bibliothèque, qu’une école primaire digne de ce nom. Cette série de 5 concours – ouverts et en deux phases – organisés par l’organisme LAB-École affrontait dès lors deux convictions contradictoires : la certitude que les lieux de scolarisation forgent et modèlent ce que nous sommes depuis la petite enfance et cette conviction, répandue parmi les décideurs publics, que l’on pourrait au fond étudier et enseigner n’importe où. Particulièrement bien organisés par le LAB-École, ces concours montrent au contraire que l’architecture n’est pas un luxe, mais une nécessité. Pour des contextes aussi différents que Saguenay, Maskinongé, Rimouski, Gatineau et Shefford, les propositions se révèlent riches en réflexions démontrant que la question de l’école primaire reste complexe et ne saurait être circonscrite dans des modèles à répéter – en bleu, en bois ou en aluminium – quel que soient les contextes.

La situation des écoles primaires au Québec s’est détériorée au point de constituer le nouvel enjeu national. De nombreuses études sur l’architecture scolaire montrent l’extraordinaire attachement aux espaces et aux lieux qui ont accompagné, parfois protégé, et souvent construit nos enfances. La vieille école serait toujours la plus belle, le modèle qu’il faudrait imposer à nos enfants, au point que de multiples réformes pédagogiques se sont heurtées à ce simple principe d’attachement aux valeurs du passé. En dépit des velléités politiques ou des bonnes intentions architecturales, n’impose pas qui veut de nouvelles structures pédagogiques, encore moins de nouvelles formes, à l’architecture de l’éducation. D’autant que l’espace de la première scolarisation se déploie aujourd’hui autant dans les registres physiques que virtuels. Nombreux sont d’ailleurs les tenants d’une révolution pédagogique essentiellement axée sur l’augmentation technologique de l’espace éducatif qui espèrent ainsi contourner l’obstacle de la qualité architecturale.

Comparativement aux pratiques en vigueur dans de nombreux pays, le Canada organise très peu de concours pour les lieux d’éducation. Sur les 451 concours organisés au pays depuis 1858, à peine 8% concernent des programmes liés à l’éducation, essentiellement au niveau universitaire, et moins de 2% pour des écoles primaires. Si l’on met de côté le concours de recherche-création organisé par le LEAP en 2019 (voir CCC, « Entre l’école et la ville ») et, bien entendu, les 5 concours du LAB-École, il ne reste guère que le remarquable cas historique du « concours provincial d’architecture pour les écoles primaires » organisé par le gouvernement du Québec en 1964 (NB. Également documenté dans le CCC). Il existe un autre concours organisé à Vancouver en 1970, mais nous disposons de trop peu de données pour l’évaluer. Il n’y eut par la suite que de rares concours essentiellement universitaires dans les années 1970 et il fallut attendre les années 1990 pour que le parc immobilier vieillissant impose de nouvelles consultations et réflexions. Celles-ci seront fortement encouragées par les nombreuses études, souvent de nature sociologique, conduites dans les contextes suisses, français et scandinaves. Elles n’auront pas d’influence notable sur la mise en place de concours au Canada en dépit du fait qu’à la fin des années 80, un modeste programme fédéral ait donné lieu à un processus novateur de conception d’écoles en Colombie-Britannique, grâce à l’architecte Marie-Odile Marceau, alors architecte régional pour le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Développement du Nord.

Mais, de façon caractéristique, et contrairement au recours systématique au concours pour les édifices scolaires dans tous les pays d’Europe, on peut s’étonner légitimement du fait que les écoles n’aient pas été considérées comme des questions architecturales essentielles en Amérique du Nord. Par comparaison, il se trouve peu d’écoles primaires ou secondaires et parfois maternelles qui ne soient passées par l’épreuve du concours dans des pays comme la France, la Suisse, l’Allemagne et tous les pays nordiques que l’on cite aujourd’hui en exemple dans toutes les discussions, dans tous les articles et dans les nouveaux programmes de concours au Québec, incluant les cinq concours du LAB-École organisés en 2019.

On rétorquera que la procédure du concours n’est pas la seule façon d’assurer la qualité architecturale. Sans doute, mais l’examen du nombre de projets primés dans le domaine de l’architecture scolaire est tout aussi désolant. Les statistiques, tant au Québec qu’au Canada, confirment la méfiance des autorités éducatives dans la recherche de l’excellence ou de l’innovation. Sur une période de quatre décennies, moins d’une trentaine d’écoles primaires et secondaires canadiennes ont été primées sur un ensemble de plusieurs milliers de réalisations ayant reçu un prix d’excellence. Au Québec, les projets récompensés se comptent sur les doigts d’une main : l’école primaire Baril (2019), le collège Saint-Louis (2015), l’école primaire Barclay (2014), l’école primaire de la Grande-Hermine (2009) et l’école secondaire Nikanik (1998).

Si l’on en juge par le silence des autorités publiques québécoises depuis le concours de 1964, il y a de quoi craindre qu’un renouveau de la normalisation – fût-il centré sur la chaleur du bois, la couleur du ciel et la belle froideur industrielle de l’aluminium – ne soit qu’une répétition des erreurs du passé. La timidité des politiques publiques à l’égard de la qualité architecturale des édifices scolaires signifie aussi que les concepteurs – comme les chercheurs – doivent mieux fonder leurs arguments et leurs données lorsqu’il s’agit d’expliquer que la qualité architecturale contribue à déterminer les conditions d’apprentissage, voire à soutenir la réussite scolaire.

C’est dans ce contexte qu’il faut découvrir la richesse foisonnante des projets soumis aux différents concours organisés par le LAB-École. Si l’on met parfois l’accent sur les 20 finalistes répartis en 5 sites, on ne doit surtout pas oublier les 140 autres propositions conçues en première phase de cette rare série de concours ouverts. Ce n’est pas le moindre mérite de l’organisation LAB-École, sous l’impulsion de l’architecte Pierre Thibault et du conseiller professionnel Nicolas Marier, que d’avoir insisté pour que ces concours soient ouverts à tous les architectes de la province. On doit également souligner que l’organisme LAB-École ne s’est pas contenté d’organiser des concours, mais qu’il a revisité les programmes architecturaux des écoles primaires au Québec en utilisant au mieux la contrainte des superficies allouées ou en redéfinissant les espaces scolaires. Enfin, chaque programme de concours a fait l’objet de concertations avec des représentants des milieux concernés, tandis que les jurys incluaient certains de ces acteurs locaux. Il ne s’agit donc pas d’une vision centralisatrice de l’école, mais bien d’un engagement au cas par cas.

Certes, la meilleure architecture ne pourra se substituer aux moyens consacrés à la pédagogie. On ne peut séparer la qualité des lieux de scolarisation de celle des encadrements pédagogiques. Il reste que la meilleure des enseignantes et le meilleur des professeurs ne peuvent enseigner de la même façon n’importe où, y compris, et peut être surtout, par écrans interposés. Bien des pays dits civilisés organisent systématiquement des concours pour les écoles, pour chacune des écoles. Pourquoi devrait-il en être autrement au Québec?

Jean-Pierre Chupin
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires