221 competitions documented 461 competitions listed
5 882 projects 59 424 documents
Open hands at the future SANAAQ Center
by Joëlle Tétreault, Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2021-12-09
Community centers are places where a community can meet and exchange ideas and practice recreational, cultural or social activities. The sense of attachment of various communities is built there. But designing spaces that promote diversity and inclusion remains a complex process. In response to criticism from Makivik, a representative organism of the Inuit of Nunavik, Peter McGill's center has been renamed the SANAAQ Centre, a term inspired by an Inuit book by author Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk from 1950, which refers to something made by hand. This concept of an open hand or a making hand is certainly what brings the goals of the competition closer to the future appropriations of the community center. The mayor of the city of Montreal, however, will be accused of cultural appropriation in a controversy revealing that the valorization of indigenous cultures announced in the program of the competition has not been realized as planned.

Since 2013 the western area of the Ville-Marie district has been considered a priority for the construction of a new community library. The absence of gathering places, the lack of space for community organizations, and a scarcity of cultural and recreational activities on the territory were identified as deficiencies in services in the Peter-McGill district, requiring a competition.

In the spring of 2020, the City of Montreal issued a call for applications for a multi-disciplinary competition to develop the Sanaaq Community Centre (initially Peter McGill’s center) on the site of the former Montreal Children's Hospital. The designers had to deal with plans offering 5310m2 of gross floor area and a budget constraint of $13,853,942 before taxes in order to create a library, a performance area, workplaces and several other community spaces. As a district with a growing and diverse demographic, the Ville-Marie district is counting on a complete redevelopment of the site, combining a community center, social housing, green spaces, commercial spaces and offices. The rules required that each team consist of at least 8 professionals working in specific disciplines from architecture to mechanical engineering. Four teams were selected by a jury composed of : Jean Bouvrette, Alain Carle, Amélie Harbec, Paul Laurendeau, Sophie Mayes, Daniel Smith and Gina Tremblay.

The vision statement of the development project invited the teams to define the Peter McGill Centre as an oasis that places people at the heart of its actions. This statement brings together the five visions of the competition to transform the district into a "nerve center and a laboratory for public innovation". (Excerpt from the brief) The center had to be open to the community, opt for a technological and digital signature at the service of social connection, but also conceive a musical signature as a universal language. But it was also, and perhaps above all, a question of highlighting indigenous cultures by working upstream with the representatives of the community.

The project proposed by architects Chevalier Morales did not satisfy the jury, despite an ambitious approach to eliminate the limits between the programmatic entities. In response to the analysis of the site and the programmatic commission, the designers orient their proposal around three design themes: indeterminacy, hybridization and heterotopia. These design axes result in a proposal that is flexible in its layout and appropriation. The jury recognized that the strong conceptual approach was fully assumed but considered that the "raw" aspect of the layout made it cold and uninviting, and that the proposal did not meet the objectives of the competition. While this rejection was unanimous, the discussion of the other three projects was more divisive.

Atelier Big City + Rayside Labossière's proposal stood out for its strong community identity, assumed through a play of colors, and for its living presence consistent with the conceptual intent. The consortium is humanising the architecture by showing the daily appropriation of the various spaces created in the project. The team textually demonstrates sensitivity to the context of the intervention, but it is difficult to understand the correlation to the proposed layouts due to the graphic style chosen. While the quality of the spaces describes the importance of natural light, it remained difficult to read in the submitted drawings. The jury considered that several objectives of the competition were only partially achieved and that the optimism of the project presented a risk.

In contrast, EVOQ's proposal is pragmatic and rigorous. The project proposes a "signature experience" that applies to the entire walk through the project, from the passage between interior and exterior, wandering between the open spaces. Overall, the jury agreed that the design approach was coherent, appropriate and flexible in its arrangement of community spaces. A few functional deficiencies in the planning of the performance space were highlighted although it did not challenge the overall appreciation of the project.

It is the proposal of the consortium made up of the Architecture 49 and Pelletier De Fontenay that convinced the jury. The formal coherence of the spaces and the use of local materials made the whole "very enveloping and warm" (From the jury report). The consortium chose to emphasize the growing diversity and mixity of the neighborhood by offering various spaces and as many experiences capable of echoing the heterogeneous character of the community and in their own words: "The proposed heterogeneity aims to create the feeling of a democratic, decentralized space, where several expressions can cohabit" (Text Architecture 49 + Pelletier De Fontenay). Emphasis is placed on the public character of the project, keeping with the overall mission of creating a community hub that will provide over 42,000 residents with access to municipal facilities by 2025.

It should be noted that the City of Montreal encountered several challenges at various stages of the project. Negotiations with the construction firm led to a revision of the timeline and a postponement to the center’s grand opening, which was initially scheduled for 2022 but will now take place in 2023. The Inuit community members, after discussions with mayor Valérie Plante, finally accepted the name given to the Sanaaq Center, criticizing however the decisional and participative process of the community: " Makivik and the Avataq Inuit Cultural Institute had sent a letter to mayor Plante accusing her administration of cultural appropriation. The issue: the project to name a municipal project "Sanaaq Centre" without adequate consultation. (Teisceira-Lessard, 2021) The fact remains that the name honors and reinforces a sense of pride for the author's family members: "The family and friends of the late Inuk author Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk are proud and honored to see a new arts center named after the region's most famous novel, Sanaaq." (D. Willette, 2021) Three of the four finalist teams, including the winning team, clearly failed to address the objective of valuing Indigenous cultures in the text accompanying their final proposal. Only the Atelier Big City + Rayside Labossière team acknowledged that the project was to be built on the non-ceded lands of thethe Peter McGill district but this obviously was not enough to convince the jury.

La Presse, & Teisceira-Lessard, P. (2021, 21 janvier). Valérie Plante accusée d’appropriation culturelle par les Inuits. La Presse. https://www.lapresse.ca/actualites/grand-montreal/2021-01-21/valerie-plante-accusee-d-appropriation-culturelle-par-les-inuits.php

Willette, D. (2021b, novembre 17). NEW MONTREAL COMMUNITY CENTER NAMED AFTER THE NUNAVIK NOVEL, SANAAQ. Superstar Cipo. https://www.superstarcipo.info/new-montreal-community-center-named-after-the-nunavik-novel-sanaaq/
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

220 concours documentés 460 concours répertoriés
5 960 projets 57 289 documents
Mains ouvertes au futur Centre SANAAQ
par Joëlle Tétreault, Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2021-12-09
Les centres communautaires sont des lieux d’échange et de rencontre pour une communauté permettant la pratique de loisirs récréatifs, culturels ou sociaux. S’y construit notamment le sentiment d’appartenance de diverses communautés. Mais la conception d’espaces capables de promouvoir la diversité et l’inclusion reste un processus complexe. Pour donner suite aux critiques formulées par Makivik, représentante des Inuits du Nunavik, le centre de Peter McGill a été renommé Centre SANAAQ : vocable inspiré d’un ouvrage inuit de l’auteure Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk datant de 1950, il désigne quelque chose de fait à la main. Ce concept de main ouverte ou de main agissante rapproche les objectifs du concours des futures appropriations du centre communautaire. La mairesse de la ville de Montréal sera toutefois accusée d’appropriation culturelle en une controverse révélant que la valorisation des cultures autochtones, pourtant annoncée dans le programme du concours, ne s’est pas réalisée comme prévu.

Depuis 2013 la zone ouest de l’arrondissement Ville-Marie est considérée comme prioritaire pour la construction d’une nouvelle bibliothèque communautaire. L’absence de lieu de rassemblement, le manque de locaux pour les organismes communautaires ainsi qu’une insuffisance d’activités culturelles et de loisirs sur le territoire sont identifiés comme des carences en matière de services dans le district de Peter-McGill, imposant la tenue d’un concours.

Au printemps 2020, la ville de Montréal a lancé un appel de candidature pour un concours pluridisciplinaire visant l’aménagement du centre communautaire Sanaaq (anc. Peter-McGill) à l’emplacement de l’ancien Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants. Les concepteurs devaient composer avec des plans leur offrant 5310m2 de superficie brute et une contrainte budgétaire de 13 853 942$ avant taxes afin d’y aménager une bibliothèque, une zone de spectacle, des zones de travails et plusieurs autres espaces communautaires. District fort d’une démographie croissante en nombre et en diversité, l’arrondissement Ville-Marie compte sur une requalification complète du site, juxtaposant centre communautaire, logements sociaux, espaces verts, espaces commerciaux et bureaux. Le règlement imposait que chaque équipe se compose d’au moins 8 professionnels œuvrant dans des disciplines spécifiques de l’architecture au génie mécanique. Quatre équipes furent retenues par un jury constitué de : Jean Bouvrette, Alain Carle, Amélie Harbec, Paul Laurendeau, Sophie Mayes, Daniel Smith et Gina Tremblay.

L’énoncé de vision du projet d’aménagement invitait les équipes à définir le centre de Peter-McGill comme une oasis plaçant l’humain au cœur de ses actions. Cet énoncé regroupe les cinq visions du concours afin de transformer le district en un « épicentre névralgique et véritable laboratoire d’innovation publique » (Extrait du programme). Le centre devait s’ouvrir sur la communauté, opter pour une signature technologique et numérique au service du lien social, mais également concevoir une signature musicale comme un langage universel. Mais il s’agissait également et peut être surtout de mettre en valeur les cultures autochtones en travaillant en amont avec les représentants de la communauté.

Le projet proposé par l’équipe de Chevalier Morales architectes n’a pas convaincu le jury en dépit d’une approche ambitieuse visant à éliminer les frontières entre les entités programmatiques. Pour donner suite à l’analyse des lieux et de la commande programmatique, les concepteurs orientent leur proposition autour de trois thèmes guidant la conception, soit l’indétermination, l’hybridation et l’hétérotopie. Ces axes de conception résultent en une proposition qui se veut flexibles dans son aménagement et son appropriation. Le jury a reconnu que le parti fortement conceptuel était pleinement assumé, mais il a toutefois considéré que leur aspect « brut » rendait les aménagements aussi froids que peu invitants et que la proposition ne rencontrait pas les objectifs du concours. Si ce rejet fut unanime, la discussion relative aux trois autres projets fut plus clivante.

La proposition d’Atelier Big City + Rayside Labossière se démarquait par son identité communautaire forte et assumée par un jeu de couleurs et par sa présence vivante cohérente avec l’intention conceptuelle. Le consortium humanise l’architecture en détaillant l’appropriation quotidienne des divers espaces créés dans le projet. L’équipe fait textuellement preuve de sensibilité à l’égard du contexte d’intervention, mais il est difficile d’en comprendre la corrélation avec les aménagements proposés en raison du style graphique choisi. Si la qualité des espaces décrit l’importance de la lumière naturelle, celle-ci reste difficile à lire dans les dessins soumis. Le jury a considéré que plusieurs objectifs du concours n’étaient que partiellement atteints et que l’optimisme du projet présentait un risque.

En contrepartie, la proposition de EVOQ fait preuve de pragmatisme et de rigueur. Le projet propose une « expérience signature » s’appliquant à l’ensemble du parcours dans le projet que ce soit du passage entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur, jusqu’à la déambulation entre les espaces ouverts. De manière générale, les membres du jury ont convenu que l’approche conceptuelle était cohérente, adéquate et flexible dans son agencement des espaces communautaires. Quelques lacunes fonctionnelles relatives à la planification de la salle de spectacle n’ont pas remis en question l’appréciation générale du projet.

C’est la proposition du consortium constitué des équipes Architecture 49 et Pelletier De Fontenay qui a su convaincre le jury par la cohérence formelle des espaces et par l’utilisation de matériaux locaux rendant l’ensemble « très enveloppant et chaleureux » (Tiré du rapport du jury). Le consortium a choisi de mettre l’accent sur la diversité et la mixité du quartier en offrant divers espaces et autant d’expériences capables de faire écho au caractère hétérogène de la communauté et dans leurs propres termes : « L'hétérogénéité proposée vise à créer le sentiment d'un espace démocratique, décentralisé, où plusieurs expressions peuvent cohabiter » (Texte Architecture 49 + Pelletier De Fontenay). L’accent est mis sur le caractère public du projet, s’accrochant à la mission globale de la création d’un pôle communautaire qui permettra à plus de 42 000 résidents d’avoir accès à de l’équipement municipal d’ici 2025.

Soulignons que la ville de Montréal a rencontré plusieurs difficultés aux diverses étapes de la réalisation du projet. Des négociations avec la firme de construction a permis de revoir les délais en imposant un report de l’ouverture du centre, initialement prévu en 2022, elle aura lieu désormais en 2023. Les membres de la communauté Inuit, après discussion avec la mairesse Valérie Plante, ont finalement accepté que le nom donné au Centre Sanaaq, critiquant toutefois le processus décisionnel et participatif de la communauté : « Makivik et l’institut culturel inuit Avataq avaient fait parvenir à la mairesse Plante une lettre accusant son administration d’appropriation culturelle. En cause : le projet de baptiser un projet municipal « Centre Sanaaq » sans consultation adéquates. » (Teisceira-Lessard, 2021) Il reste que le nom honore et renforce un sentiment de fierté pour les membres de la famille de l’autrice : « The family and friends of the late Inuk author Mitiarjuk Nappaaluk say they are proud and honored to see a new arts center named after the region’s most famous novel, Sanaaq. » (D. Willette, 2021) Trois des quatre équipes finalistes, y compris l’équipe lauréate, ont clairement omis de prendre en compte l’objectif de valorisation des cultures autochtones dans le texte accompagnant leur proposition finale. Seule l’équipe Atelier Big City + Rayside Labossière a pris acte de l’implantation du projet en territoire non-cédé du district de Peter-McGill mais ce ne fut pas suffisant pour convaincre un jury exigeant.

La Presse, & Teisceira-Lessard, P. (2021, 21 janvier). Valérie Plante accusée d’appropriation culturelle par les Inuits. La Presse. https://www.lapresse.ca/actualites/grand-montreal/2021-01-21/valerie-plante-accusee-d-appropriation-culturelle-par-les-inuits.php

Willette, D. (2021b, novembre 17). NEW MONTREAL COMMUNITY CENTER NAMED AFTER THE NUNAVIK NOVEL, SANAAQ. Superstar Cipo. https://www.superstarcipo.info/new-montreal-community-center-named-after-the-nunavik-novel-sanaaq/
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires