221 competitions documented 461 competitions listed
5 882 projects 59 424 documents
Capturing views of tomorrow’s inclusive city
by Lucas Ouellet, Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2022-08-11
Launched on June 15, 2020, this competition, addressed to students of the four faculties of design and architecture in Quebec, called for innovative approaches, in a context of humanitarian, climatic and health crises. The development of student projects coincided with major social upheavals, from the significant deterioration of public health caused by the first waves of COVID-19 to repeated and umpteenth instances of crimes and injustices committed against visible minorities all over the world. All spheres of design are now involved in the implementation of various solutions to address these issues: in order for our society to evolve in the face of the above-mentioned crises, the practice of architecture and the legislative framework surrounding the profession must change. To this end, can the innovative thinking that "Repenser la rue commerciale" incites be a vector for the evolution of the architectural profession? Can we perceive, among the solutions that were proposed, views which may capture tomorrow’s inclusive city?

The competition's commission is based on a study of the archetypal case of the commercial street, introducing the adoption of a new and very appropriate "urban paradigm" : inclusive design. Inclusivity is a concept in architecture that aims to respond to the urgent needs of an urbanity that is considered outdated and unhealthy, based on the various social disorders that affect us today. Guided by this principle, "Repenser la rue commerciale" aimed to "examine and reconsider the visual, spatial and functional aspect of our main streets" by inciting analyses on how the relationships between establishments and streets are organized.

Using the example of a shopping street of their choice, competitors were asked to consider spatial and relational concerns such as the relationship of "businesses and public places to the outside world". Nourished by a reflection on these topics, the program encouraged the adoption of a holistic mode of intervention through the interweaving of scales of intervention, from the street to the built environment. It is thus expected of the competition to be a place of experimentation that can generate new avenues and stimulating reflections in order to find architectural approaches which may transform our cities.

The competition is developed on two scales: first, "[...] that of the spatial organization of a business (a restaurant or a bar for example) or a public place (library, office, etc.) and [second] that of the street. On the one hand, the project may consist of the redevelopment of an existing street, or on the other hand, it may take the form of the design of a completely new street. Out of a total of 20 proposals, only 6 projects were commented on by the jury composed of Anne Cormier, Sinisha Brdar, Jean-Bruno Morissette, Nik Luka and Jean-Philippe Simard.

The proposal "L'envers du décor" received a special mention from the jury. The project is located on the eastern edge of the Quartier des spectacles, on the block bordered by Saint-Laurent and Saint-Dominique streets, between de Maisonneuve and Ontario. The team defends "the model of a human-scale commercial street as a tool of resilience in times of health and ecological crisis", by proposing a bipartite intervention with regard to the pair of streets framing the intervention site. While Saint-Laurent Boulevard is the stage, Saint-Dominique Street plays the role of backstage, doubling the "exchange interface with the street, by activating the rear façade of the premises. This allows two businesses to share the same space while maintaining their distinct identity. Despite the detailed level of atmospheres and ambiences, the jury determined that "the proposal was a little too focused on the interior and not enough on the public space of the exterior street.

The "Shared / Separation" project advocated a minimalist approach in response to the often carbon-intensive modes of architectural intervention. It is by criticizing this major scourge, perpetuated by construction practices now condemned, that the project is articulated around a carbon neutral aim. The sole use of planters would allow to easily modulate the aspect of a commercial street where cars, bicycles and pedestrians circulate. The urban limits contract or dilate to the rhythm of these public furnishings, forming a green edge that limits the contact between sidewalk and street and widens the pedestrian and commercial sector by bordering the car lanes. If "the jury's curiosity was piqued by the analysis of the temporality of the design and the ephemeral, cyclical aspect of the street's activities", it notes that "the need to move the bins and low walls twice a day seems to require a bit too much logistics".

"La randonnée du Mont-Royal" tackled the characteristic crampedness of public spaces in Montreal. Social distancing, in particular, motivates this approach. The team suggests "transforming the street into a pedestrian street in order to encourage active transportation and to allow businesses to take over the public space.  The intervention extends over a length of 500 meters, between Saint-Laurent Boulevard and Saint-Denis Street. While the jury showed some interest in the concept, the conversion of Avenue du Mont-Royal into a pedestrian street "did not seem to be a feasible or very daring intervention at the architectural level" - the jury suggested instead that the project be transposed to other sectors of the city.

"Proximité sans contact" opted for a reorganization of Montreal's streets and alleys based on the Dutch "woonerf "model. In contrast to the organization-by-segregation of all North American road networks, the "woonerf" dictates that "all users cohabit in the same place : no physical barrier [exists] between cars and pedestrians or buses and bicycles". Pedestrians have priority and the road space is cleared to facilitate social distancing. Montreal streets that adopt the Dutch model will be punctuated by so-called generic structures: "[...] some forty modules, or cubicles, [will be] arranged. Each cubicle can be arranged in a different way depending on the activity that takes place there: integrated furniture (table, partitions) will be hidden in the structure. The jury appreciated the graphic treatment of the presentation boards, while underlining the lack of articulation in the dialogue between the shops, the street and the neighborhood.

"De-Hierarchize the Commercial Street" was the second prize-winning project that sought to break down the hierarchical and rigid organization of Montreal's commercial street. The project calls for a transformation of the urban space into a multifunctional ecosystem at three distinct scales. Pedestrian spaces are widened by keeping only one lane reserved for motorists. Businesses with street frontage are remodeled, allowing a more hygienic organization of their interior spaces. Finally, the project appropriates the alleys of Montreal, embodying spaces that are ancillary and complementary to the streets. The jury noted the richness of the explanatory text and appreciated "that the proposal leads to the alley and the backstreet, as if the streets were expanding into more intimate and intriguing spaces. However, the drawings were described as "dreary". In addition, the project makes "use [of] a typology inspired by Melbourne and Brussels, which is less well adapted to Quebec winters".

What can we learn from this competition? All the projects answer the commission with architectural strategies that are concerned with the quality of urban architecture and its impact on common themes such as greening, public health and the quality of public spaces. However, with the notable exception of the winning project, the proposals fail to truly address the issue of inclusiveness. By sidestepping socio-cultural issues related to the location of the project and its users, these proposals remain incomplete in rethinking the city in light of current social crises.

On the contrary, the "Trait d’union" project is located in the Petit Maghreb district, along Jean-Talon East, between Saint-Michel and Pie-IX boulevards. The sector where the project intervenes "corresponds to the head of blocks of Jean-Talon Street between 14th Avenue and 17th Avenue". This location is notably characterized by the following problem: "the street [Jean-Talon] is ill-adapted to the fight against climate change as well as future health crises", while "the population of the neighborhood is extremely vulnerable to social exclusion and segregation in the commercial offer". The project also highlights the eclectic nature of the built environment, with the neighborhood's design "not allowing for generic street-level strategies”. In addition, the area lacks vegetation and a high degree of mineralization [contributes] to the formation of heat islands." "A lack of active transportation incentives [encourages] a strong automobile presence and narrow sidewalks [make it] difficult to respect physical distancing standards”.

Thus, the project is deployed through six components:

- The vegetation of the street, serving to balance the energy contribution of the buildings and create islands of coolness.
- The substitution of reserved transportation lanes, currently used as parking lots, by modular insertions on the entire street - these interventions allow for collaboration between the city and the commercial associations.
- The extension of sidewalks to storefronts joins the creation of stimulating routes to engage passersby in the journey.
- A spread of businesses on the sidewalk with seasonally adapted deployments proposing a street that invites itself into the private domain and businesses that extend ont public space in order to encourage local consumption.
- The development of urban furniture encouraging interactions and gatherings in front of facades, a practice already anchored in the Maghrebian community, while respecting a layout allowing for physical distancing. 
- The development of plazas at the head of the blocks should make it possible to eliminate parking at the intersections to create spaces that can be appropriated by the residents, reinforcing the attachment of the local population to the neighborhood and combating gentrification.

The jury praised the "mature and coherent" character of the project, while emphasizing the quality of the presentation, in the form of a "lexicon of strategies to address a variety of situations". It is said, however, that some of the interventions, in the form of plots, are "perhaps not as relevant and coherent as desired," but the jury appreciates "that the many issues regarding the commercial street and regarding society (both cultural, health and environmental) are broadly addressed”.

This competition proposed to rethink the city, at the scale of the urban fabric as well as that the of the fragment (the street, the square, the cadastre, etc). This approach notably refers to Cerdà's theories of urbanization, to projects such as Ludwig Hilberseimer's "Hochhausstadt" and to Le Corbusier's "Ville contemporaine pour trois millions d'habitants" - all works which aim to provide an alternative relational organization of urban fabric. The nature of the relational fabric of the city was then conceived as a vector for organizational productivity - in the words of Giorgio Agamben, this conception can be described as a "managerial paradigm" (Aureli, 2011).

In 1924, Mies Van Der Rohe suggested that "architecture translates the will of an epoch into space" (Mies Van Der Rohe, 1924). This formula is an indication of the importance of hygienism and the economy of urban space in the modern era. If we transpose this notion to our contemporary reality, how may we characterize, through architecture, the will of the present day? Today, inclusivity is a key principle that architecture must embody. Rather than stating objective generalities, the inclusive paradigm considers each case as particular: the user is no longer a generic abstraction, but a human subject. Intervention zones are now seen as localized areas - neighborhoods, street corners shaped by the daily life that animates them. Of all the proposals presented as part of the "Repenser la rue commerciale" competition, the winning project best addressed this notion by paying particular attention to the "many issues regarding the commercial street and regarding society [...]", to the communities affected by the potential urban intervention, and to the heterogeneity of the built environment. If the architecture of the future is to be inclusive, the "Trait d’union" project captures an enticing view of tomorrow’s urban spaces.


Bibliography

Aureli, P. V. (2011). The Possibility of an Absolute Architecture. The MIT Press.

Mies Van Der Rohe, L. (1924). Architecture and the times.

Charrette interuniversitaire | Repenser la rue commerciale. (2020, June 20). Kollectif. https://kollectif.net/69320-2/

Lauréats | Charrette interuniversitaire | Repenser la rue commerciale. (2020, July 11). Kollectif. https://kollectif.net/laureats-charrette-interuniversitaire-repenser-rue-commerciale/
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

221 concours documentés 461 concours répertoriés
5 882 projets 59 424 documents
Fenêtres sur le futur de la ville inclusive
par Lucas Ouellet, Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2022-08-11
Lancé le 15 juin 2020, ce concours d’idées, adressé aux étudiant·es des quatre facultés de design et d'architecture du Québec, appelait des approches innovantes, sur fond de crises humanitaires, climatiques et sanitaires. L’élaboration des projets étudiants coïncidait avec d’importants bouleversements sociaux, de l’importante dégradation de la santé publique causée par les premières vagues de la COVID-19 à la mise à la lumière derechef de crimes et d’injustices commises envers des minorités visibles ici et ailleurs. Toutes les sphères du design s’impliquent désormais quant à la mise en œuvre de diverses solutions pouvant adresser ces problèmes : afin que notre société puisse évoluer face aux crises citées ci-haut, la pratique de l’architecte et le cadre législatif entourant la profession doivent changer. À cet effet, la réflexion novatrice qu’incite Repenser la rue commerciale peut-elle incarner un vecteur d’évolution de la profession d’architecte? Peut-on y entrevoir, parmi les solutions qui y furent proposées, certaines fenêtres sur la ville qui accueillera la société de demain ?

La commande du concours s’appuie sur une étude du cas archétypique de la rue commerciale, en introduisant l’adoption d’un nouveau « paradigme urbain » fort à-propos : le design inclusif. L’inclusivité est un concept en architecture visant désormais à répondre aux besoins urgents d’une urbanité jugée désuète et malsaine, en fonction des divers troubles sociaux qui nous affectent aujourd’hui. Guidé par ce principe, Repenser la rue commerciale avait pour but « d’examiner et de reconsidérer l’aspect visuel, spatial et fonctionnel de nos rues principales » en incitant à réfléchir sur la manière dont les relations entre les établissements et les rues s’organisent.

En prenant l’exemple d’une voie commerçante de leur choix, les concurrents devaient se questionner sur des enjeux spatio-relationnels tels que le rapport des «commerces et des lieux publics avec l’extérieur». Nourri d’une réflexion entourant ces enjeux, le programme incitait à l’adoption d’un mode d’intervention holistique par l’entrecroisement d’échelles d’interventions, de la rue comme du cadre bâti. Il est ainsi souhaité que le concours constitue un lieu d’expérimentation pouvant générer de nouvelles pistes et de stimulantes réflexions lorsqu’il est question de trouver des réponses architecturales visant à transformer nos villes.

L’objet du concours se développe selon deux échelles : En premier lieu, « […] celle de l’organisation spatiale d’un commerce (d’un restaurant ou d’un bar par exemple) ou d’un lieu public (bibliothèque, bureau, etc.) et [en deuxième lieu] celle de la rue ». D’une part, le projet peut consister à réaménager une rue existante, ou d’autre part, se manifester sous la forme de l’ébauche d’une rue tout à fait nouvelle. Sur un total de 20 propositions, seuls 6 projets ont été commentés par le jury composé d’Anne Cormier, de Sinisha Brdar, de Jean-Bruno Morissette, de Nik Luka et de Jean-Philippe Simard.

La proposition « L’envers du décor » bénéficia d’une mention spéciale du jury. Le projet se situe à la lisière Est du Quartier des spectacles, sur l'îlot bordé par les rues Saint-Laurent et Saint-Dominique, entre de Maisonneuve et Ontario. L’équipe défend « le modèle d’une rue commerciale à échelle humaine comme outil de résilience en temps de crise sanitaire et écologique », en proposant une intervention bipartite à l’égard du couple de rues cadrant le site d'intervention. Alors que le boulevard Saint-Laurent incarne scène, la rue Saint-Dominique joue le rôle des coulisses, dédoublant « l’interface d’échange avec la rue, en activant la façade arrière des locaux. Cela permet à deux commerces de partager le même espace tout en conservant leur identité distincte ». Malgré le niveau détaillé des atmosphères et ambiances, le jury détermina que « la proposition était un peu trop axée sur l’intériorité et pas assez sur l’espace public de la rue extérieure ».

Le projet « Shared / Separation » préconisait une approche minimaliste en réponse aux modes d’intervention architecturales souvent trop coûteuses en matière d’émissions de carbone. C’est en critiquant ce fléau majeur, perpétué par des pratiques constructives désormais condamnables, que le parti du projet s’articule autour d’une visée carboneutre. L’unique usage de jardinières, le long d’une rue commerçante où circulent voitures, vélos et piétons, permettrait de facilement moduler l’aspect de celle-ci. Les limites urbaines se contractent ou se dilatent au rythme de ces mobiliers publics formant une lisière verdoyante qui limite le contact entre trottoir et rue et élargit le secteur piéton et commerçant en bornant les voies carossables. Si « la curiosité du jury a été piquée par l’analyse de la temporalité de l’aménagement et l’aspect éphémère, cyclique des activités de la rue », il note que « la nécessité de déplacer les bacs et murets deux fois par jour semble exiger un peu trop de logistique ».

« La randonnée du Mont-Royal » s’attaquait à l’exiguïté caractéristique des espaces publics à Montréal. La distanciation sociale, notamment, motive le parti pris. L’équipe suggère « de transformer la rue en une rue piétonne afin de favoriser le transport actif et de permettre aux commerces de s'approprier l’espace public ».  L’intervention se déploie sur une longueur de 500 mètres, entre le boulevard Saint-Laurent et la rue Saint-Denis. Si le jury a manifesté un certain intérêt pour ce concept, la conversion en voie piétonne de l’avenue Mont-Royal « n’a pas semblé une intervention ni réalisable ni très audacieuse au niveau architectural » — le jury suggérant plutôt que le projet soit transposé à d’autres secteurs de la ville.

« Proximité sans contact » optait pour une réorganisation des rues et ruelles montréalaises basée sur le modèle hollandais du « woonerf ». À l’inverse de « l’organisation-par-ségrégation » que connaissent l’ensemble des réseaux viaires de l’Amérique du Nord, le « woonerf » dicte que « tous les usagers se voient cohabiter dans un même lieu : aucune barrière physique [n’existe] entre voitures et piétons ou bus et vélos ». Les piétons sont prioritaires et l’espace viaire bénéficie d’un dégagement destiné à faciliter la distanciation sociale. Les rues montréalaises qui adopteront le modèle hollandais seront ponctuées de structures dites génériques : «  […] une quarantaine de modules, ou cubicules, [y] seront disposés. Chaque cubicule peut être aménagé d’une manière différente selon l’activité qui y prend place : des meubles intégrés (table, cloisons) seront dissimulés dans la structure ». Le jury a apprécié le traitement graphique des planches de présentation, tout en soulignant le manque d’articulation dans le dialogue entre les commerces, la rue et le quartier.

Intitulé « De-Hierarchize the Commercial Street », le projet qui remporta le second prix avait pour objet de détourner la rue commerciale montréalaise de son organisation hiérarchique et rigide. Le projet préconise une transformation de l’espace urbain en un écosystème multifonctionnel à trois échelles distinctes. Les espaces piétons sont élargis en ne conservant qu’une seule voie réservée aux automobilistes. On intervient sur des commerces ayant pignon sur rue en remodelant l’organisation de leurs espaces intérieurs pour permettre un fonctionnement plus hygiénique. Enfin, le projet s’approprie les ruelles de Montréal, incarnant des espaces annexes et complémentaires aux rues. Le jury a souligné la richesse du texte explicatif et apprécié « que la proposition mène vers la ruelle et l’arrière-boutique, comme si la rue se dilatait vers des petits espaces intrigants ». Les dessins sont toutefois qualifiés de « tristes » d’autant qu’ils « font appel à une typologie inspirée de Melbourne et de Bruxelles, qui est moins bien adaptée aux hivers québécois ».

Quels enseignements pouvons-nous tirer de ce concours d’idées ? Tous les projets abordent la commande en élaborant des stratégies architecturales qui se soucient de la qualité de l’architecture urbaine et de son impact sur des thèmes communs tels que le verdissement, la santé publique et la qualité des espaces publics. Toutefois, à l’exception notable du projet lauréat, les propositions ne parviennent pas à véritablement traiter de la question de l’inclusivité. En esquivant des enjeux socioculturels relatifs à l’implantation du projet et à ses usagers, ces propositions demeurent incomplètes pour repenser la ville à la lumière des crises actuelles.

Au contraire, le projet « Trait d’union » s’implante au sein du quartier du Petit Maghreb, se situant le long de la rue Jean-Talon Est entre les boulevards Saint-Michel et Pie-IX. Le secteur où intervient le projet « correspond aux têtes d'îlots de la rue Jean-Talon entre la 14e avenue et la 17e avenue ». Cette implantation renvoie à la problématique suivante : « la rue Jean-Talon est mésadaptée pour la lutte aux changements climatiques et à la réactivité dans l’espace dans l’éventualité de prochaines crises sanitaires », tandis que « la population du quartier est d’autant plus vulnérable à l’exclusion sociale et à la ségrégation dans l’offre commerciale ». Le projet souligne aussi le caractère éclectique du cadre bâti, l’aménagement du quartier « permettant mal l’implantation de stratégies génériques à l’échelle de la rue ». De plus, le secteur manque de végétation et une forte minéralisation du sol [contribue] à la formation d'îlots de chaleur ». « Une absence d’équipements incitatif au transport actif [encourage] une forte présence automobile et des trottoirs étroits [permettent] mal le respect de normes de distanciation physique ».

Ainsi, le projet se déploie en six volets :

- La végétalisation de la rue, servant à balancer l’apport énergétique des bâtiments et créer des îlots de fraîcheur.
- La substitution des voies de transport réservées, présentement utilisées comme stationnements, par des insertions modulaires sur l’ensemble de la rue — ces interventions permettent la collaboration entre la ville et les associations commerçantes.
- Le prolongement des trottoirs jusqu’aux façades joint à la création de trajets stimulants afin d’engager les passants dans le parcours.
- Un étalement des commerces sur le trottoir par des déploiements adaptés aux saisons proposant une rue qui s’invite dans le domaine privé et des commerces qui s’étendent sur l’espace public afin d'encourager la consommation locale.
- L’aménagement de mobiliers urbains encourageant les interactions et les rassemblements devant les façades, une pratique déjà ancrée dans la communauté Maghrébine, tout en respectant une disposition permettant la distanciation physique. 
- L’aménagement de placettes en têtes d'îlots doit permettre d’éliminer les stationnements aux intersections pour créer des espaces appropriables par les riverains renforçant l’attachement de la population locale au quartier pour lutter à une gentrification dans l’offre des commerces.

Le jury a salué le caractère « mature et cohérent » du projet, tout en soulignant la qualité de la présentation, sous forme d’un « lexique de stratégies pour aborder une variété de situations ». Il est dit toutefois que certaines interventions, sous forme de placettes, ne sont « peut-être pas aussi pertinent[es] et cohérent[es] que souhaité », mais le jury apprécie « que les nombreux enjeux de la rue commerciale et de la société (autant culturels, sanitaires et environnementaux) soient largement abordés ».

Ce concours proposait de repenser la ville, à l’échelle du tissu urbain comme à l’échelle du fragment (la rue, le square, le cadastre, etc). Cette approche renvoie aux théories de l’urbanisation de Cerdà, à des projets tels que la « Hochhausstadt » de Ludwig Hilberseimer et à la « Ville contemporaine pour trois millions d’habitants » de Le Corbusier — ces œuvres ayant en commun de repenser l’organisation relationnelle du tissu urbain. La nature du tissu relationnel de la ville était alors conçue comme vecteur portant à la productivité organisationnelle — dans les mots de Giorgio Agamben, l’on peut qualifier cette conception de « paradigme gestionnaire » (Aureli, 2011).

En 1924, Mies Van Der Rohe proposait que « l’architecture traduit la volonté d’une époque dans l’espace » (Mies Van Der Rohe, 1924). Cette formule est l’indice de l’importance de l’hygiénisme et de l’économie de l’espace urbain à l’époque moderne. Dès lors, en transposant ce principe à notre réalité contemporaine, qu’en est-il de cette dite volonté aujourd’hui? À l’écart du paradigme gestionnaire, l’inclusivité devient désormais un principe que l’architecture se doit d’incarner aujourd’hui. Plutôt que d’énoncer des généralités objectives, le paradigme inclusif considère chaque cas comme particulier : l’usager n’est plus une abstraction générique, mais un sujet humain. Les zones d’intervention sont désormais perçues comme des secteurs localisés — des quartiers, des coins de rues modelés par la vie quotidienne qui les anime. Parmi l’ensemble des propositions du concours « Repenser la rue commerciale », le projet lauréat, a su le mieux aborder cette notion en portant une attention particulière aux « nombreux enjeux de la rue commerciale et de la société […] », aux communautés concernées par l’intervention urbaine potentielle, ainsi qu’à l’hétérogénéité du cadre bâti. Si l’architecture de la ville de demain se veut inclusive, le projet « Trait d’union » offre une fenêtre désirable sur les futurs de nos espaces urbains.


Bibliographie

Aureli, P. V. (2011). The Possibility of an Absolute Architecture. The MIT Press.

Mies Van Der Rohe, L. (1924). Architecture and the times.

Charrette interuniversitaire | Repenser la rue commerciale. (2020, June 20). Kollectif. https://kollectif.net/69320-2/

Lauréats | Charrette interuniversitaire | Repenser la rue commerciale. (2020, July 11). Kollectif. https://kollectif.net/laureats-charrette-interuniversitaire-rep
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires