176 competitions documented 423 competitions listed
4 939 projects 45 975 documents
Newly commented competition
" The metamorphosis of a library: from opacity to transparency "
by , published
Since the year 2000, more than fifteen architectural competitions aimed at rethinking libraries have been organized in Quebec. The recent Gabrielle-Roy library competition is a perfect example of this desire to change institutions dedicated to knowledge. Architecturally, it questions the contemporary trend towards dematerialization, which has been particularly explicit here due to the formal and massive architectural expression of the old library designed by Gauthier Guité Roy decades earlier. It also questions the paradoxical desire to create spaces that are well adapted to specific uses while being very flexible and versatile. [...] more
Latest Archived Competitions
Related competitions
Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery / Galerie canadienne de la céramique et du verre
Ontario, Waterloo, 1986
Patkau's winning submission for the Canadian Clay and Glass Gallery (1986) is one of those architectures that sounded the end of the 60s monolithic modernity, as well as the 80s dissonant postmodernism. Kenneth Frampton recognized early on that the Patkau's architecture was the sign of a new tectonic culture… [...] more
Solar Powered Bus Shelter + Interactive & Educational
Quebec, Montréal, 2016
Contrary to the famous aphorism by architectural historian Nikolaus Pevsner who did not recognise the bicycle shelter as architecture, this competition was grounded on the conviction that a bus shelter can, and should be as architectural as a cathedral or even a museum. With this open and anonymously judged competition which received 26 proposals from Canada, USA, Brazil, France and Iran, the ideas had to be feasible since this augmented bus shelter will indeed be built by the not profit organisation CoLLaboratoire from Concordia University. [...] more
Maison de la littérature de l'Institut Canadien de Québec
Quebec, Québec, 2011
Literature houses, be they European or anywhere else in the world, have received writers-in-residence since the 19th century. In order to confirm that Québec City as a showplace for literary creation, the Canadian Institute of Québec oriented itself towards a new programmatic type, the first in Canada, inspired by similar institutions that have recently opened their doors (Oslo in 2007, Geneva in 2012). The concept of the digital age is explained using an obscure but enlightening analogy: “a place that is to literature what a library is to reading”. The literature house of the 21st century is oriented towards both memory and creation, and combines the writers' residences with public spaces that can accommodate events and expositions around literature that is written and read on digital mediums. As detailed in the program, the literature house is a “ unique and always surprising” place that should provoke a feeling of “jamais vu” within the user. [...] more
More commented competitions
One step forward, two steps back
Centre Culturel Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
by Camille Crossman, published 2012-12-01
Public spaces and private investors
Absolute Design Ideas Competition
by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2006-08-01
A Literature House for Québec, architecture and/or stage design?
Maison de la littérature de l'Institut Canadien de Québec
by Louis Destombes, published 2013-03-08
SELECTED NEWS FEED ON COMPETITIONS
Selected announcements
MOVEMENT - IMPROVING THE HUMAN ASPECT OF MOBILITY
International
End of Registration: October 31st 2018
This competition is seeking ideas about the future of how people will move throughout the city they live in and the community that they will convene. Using the new Green Line Light Rail Transit (LRT) project in Calgary as a platform for new ideas, it seeks to reflect on the future of movement for all people in the city. The ideas proposed for the competition will become part of a platform for conversation and debate. All winning ideas will be exhibited to the public and part of a series of discussions as well as published online and in print. 
Future Urban Home Competition - Dezeen X MINI Living
International
Registration/Submission Deadline: September 10th 2018
MINI Living is a project by MINI that aims to translate one of the car brand's key design principles - the creative use of space - into real architectural solutions for how people live, work and interact in cities. Working predominantly with small spaces, the project seeks to answer urban challenges in a way that combines the brand's design knowledge with the spirit of experience and fun under the maxim: "big life, small footprint".
International design competition: Winnipeg's Market Lands
International
End of Registration: September 14th 2018
The competition is for a design that includes a new 100 unit affordable housing complex, a 700 sm (7500sf) market building and a1500 sm (16,150sf) plaza. This will be a two-phase competition with Phase 1 an RFQ to select a shortlist of up to five (5) design teams for Phase 2 to prepare a conceptual design. One member of each team is required to be formally registered as a member in good standing in one of the Provincial Architectural Associations in Canada.​
Residential Stadium - Adaptive Reuse
International
End of Registration: Nov 21st 2018 Submission: Nov 21st 2018
Archstorming is calling for proposals to design an adaptive stadium that could also be used as a residential building. Giving the fact that the World Cup 2026 will be held in North America (USA, Canada and Mexico), the project for the stadium will be located in New York City (USA). The proposed stadiums can work as both sports arena and residential building at the same time, adapt to sports arena or residential building depending on the required use or convert to residential building permanently after the sports event has finished. The stadium could have the following (indicative) program: Soccer field, Stadium stands, Residential units (recommended size: 30 m2 to 100 m2), Restaurants, Offices, Shops and commercial spaces, Multipurpose spaces, Bathrooms, Gardens and public spaces.
View all announcements play_arrow
View competition locations on the map
MAKE YOUR OWN MAPS ON ARCHIMAP.CA
Discover
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

176 concours documentés 423 concours répertoriés
4 939 projets 45 975 documents
Un nouveau concours commenté
« La métamorphose d’une bibliothèque : de l’opacité à la transparence »
par , publié le
Depuis 2000, plus d’une quinzaine de concours d’architecture visant à repenser les bibliothèques ont été organisés au Québec. Celui de la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy illustre parfaitement ce désir de changer les institutions dédiées à la connaissance. Sur le plan architectural, il interroge la tendance contemporaine à la dématérialisation qui s’est avérée particulièrement explicite ici parce qu’en relation directe avec l’expression formelle et massive de l’ancienne bibliothèque conçue par la firme Gauthier Guité Roy. Il questionne aussi la volonté paradoxale de créer des espaces bien adaptés à des usages spécifiques tout en étant très flexibles et polyvalents. [...] lire la suite
Derniers Concours archivés
Concours similaires
Solar Powered Bus Shelter + Interactive & Educational
Québec, Montréal, 2016
Contrairement au célèbre aphorisme de l’historien de l’architecture Nikolaus Pevsner qui ne considérait pas l’abri pour vélo comme un programme relevant du domaine de l’architecture, ce concours reposait sur la conviction qu’une aubette de bus peut, et devrait être autant architecturale qu’une cathédrale ou un musée. Ce concours ouvert, jugé de façon anonyme, a reçu 26 propositions en provenance du Canada, des États Unis, du Brésil, de France et d’Iran. Les idées devaient être réalisables, puisque cet « abribus augmenté » sera effectivement construit par l’organisation à but non lucratif CoLLaboratoire basée à l’Université Concordia. [...] lire la suite
Point Pleasant Park International Design Competition
Nouvelle-Écosse, Halifax, 2005
On dit souvent que les Canadiens, amateurs de grands espaces, sont particulièrement sensibles à la qualité du paysage. Au-delà des clichés, les faits sont peu glorieux. On dénombre moins d’une dizaine de concours de paysage sur près de 180 recensés depuis 1945. Pourtant les architectes paysagistes de talent ne manquent pas. Pourquoi reporte-t-on l’invention du paysage de demain ? [...] lire la suite
Complexe aquatique de Laval
Québec, Laval, 2016
Lancé en 2016, le concours pour le Complexe Aquatique de Laval marque un nouveau tournant pour la ville et son architecture publique. Sachant qu’aucun concours n’avait été organisé à Laval depuis 1961, ce projet témoigne d’un changement de politique. Le projet s’inscrit dans la démarche d’accueil de la finale des Jeux du Québec en 2020. L’appel à propositions cherchait une architecture de qualité accessible aux athlètes comme aux citoyens. Pour la première fois, le CCC est en mesure de publier les vidéos des auditions. [...] lire la suite
Autres concours commentés
Le CCA et la promotion de la jeune architecture canadienne
Concours pour la représentation Canadienne à la Biennale de Venise - 1995 / Canadian participation to the Venise Biennale Competition
par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2009-02-01
L'École d'architecture du Nord de l'Ontario
Northern Ontario School of Architecture / L'École d'architecture du Nord de l'Ontario
par Anne Cormier, publié le 2010-03-01
Incarner ou rendre hommage ?
June Callwood Park
par Konstantina Theodosopoulos, publié le 2013-05-10
SÉLECTION DE NOUVELLES SUR LES CONCOURS
Sélection d'annonces
MOuVEMENT - AMÉLIORER L'ASPECT HUMAIN DE LA MOBILITÉ
International
Fin Inscription: 31 octobre 2018
Ce concours cherche des idées sur l'évolution des déplacements des citoyens dans leur ville et de la communauté où ils se réunissent. Utilisant le nouveau projet de métro léger sur rail (LRT) de la Ligne verte à Calgary comme générateur de nouvelles idées, il cherche à réfléchir sur l'avenir du mouvement de tous les habitants de la ville. Toutes les idées gagnantes seront exposées au public et feront partie d'une série de discussions, ainsi que publiées en ligne et imprimées.
Dezeen X MINI Living: Concours pour la maison urbaine du future
International
Fin Inscription/Soumission: 10 Septembre 2018
MINI Living est un projet de MINI qui vise à traduire l'un des principes de conception clés de la marque automobile - l'utilisation créative de l'espace - en véritables solutions architecturales pour repenser la manière dont les gens vivent, travaillent et interagissent dans les villes. Travaillant principalement avec de petits espaces, le projet cherche à répondre aux défis urbains de sorte à combiner la connaissance de la conception de la marque avec l'esprit d'expérience et de plaisir sous la maxime: "big life, small footprint".
Concours international de design: Market Lands de Winnipeg
International
Fin Inscription: 14 Septembre 2018
Le concours porte sur un projet qui comprend un nouveau complexe de logements abordables de 100 logements, un immeuble de 700 m 2 (7500 pi 2) et une esplanade de 1500 m (16 150 pi2). Ce sera une compétition en deux phases. La première s'agit d'une demande de qualification pour sélectionner une liste restreinte de cinq (5) équipes de conception pour la phase 2 où un concept sera proposé. Un membre de chaque équipe doit être officiellement inscrit comme membre en règle dans l'une des associations provinciales d'architectes au Canada.
Stade résidentiel - réutilisation adaptative
International
Fin Inscription: 21 Novembre 2018 Soumission: 21 Novembre 2018
Archstorming lance un appel à propositions pour la conception d'un stade adaptatif qui pourrait également être utilisé comme bâtiment résidentiel. Sachant que la Coupe du monde 2026 aura lieu en Amérique du Nord (USA, Canada et Mexique), le projet du stade sera situé à New York City (USA). Les stades proposés peuvent être à la fois des arènes sportives et des bâtiments résidentiels, s'adapter à des terrains de sport ou à des bâtiments résidentiels en fonction de l'utilisation requise ou être convertis en bâtiments résidentiels en permanence après la fin de l'événement sportif. Le stade pourrait avoir le programme (indicatif) suivant: terrain de football, stades de stade, unités résidentielles (taille recommandée: 30 m2 à 100 m2), restaurants, bureaux, magasins et espaces commerciaux, espaces polyvalents, salles de bains, jardins et espaces publics.
Consulter toutes les annonces play_arrow
Visualiser les Concours sur la carte
FAITES VOS CARTES SUR ARCHIMAP.CA
À DÉcouvrir
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires